Jam Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
These muffins were super! My family loved them,it made quite a few more then the recipe said though. I used strawberry jam and one cup of jam was a little bit to much, they came out a little gooey and really moist .I think I will try 2/3 or 1/2 cup jam next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I quite enjoyed this recipe. It is one of the first muffin recipe that did not turn into a brick for me. Not too sweet, was very good. I used a home made strawberry banana jam, and it was well received by the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and the batter was way too dry. Other muffin recipes I use are 400 for 18 minutes and I tried that..were overdone..I ate one warm and the next morning they were hockey pucks. I even added some "spice" and it was really bland..sorry I really wanted to like them..but I couldn't eat them :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandygirl238

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
These were great, but didn't seem to last as long as package-made muffins. I dipped a spoonful of jam into each muffin instead of including it into the mix. It was good but next time I'll stir it in the baking mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
These were great. Super moist and cakey. My changes: Since my oven likes to burn things I definitely went with 350*. It seems like the outside is caramelized from all the sugar, which is probably where people are getting their burning issues. Because they're so sticky you want to either use muffins or grease your pan really well. For depth of flavor I did 1/4 cup of reg sugar with 1/4 cup of brown sugar, and added about a teaspoon of almond extract. They were super sweet, if don't like sweet muffins, cut the sugar. I think that the jam mostly adds sweetness, I only get a hint of strawberry. If you want more berry flavor, you'll need to add berries, or some kind of extract/flavoring. I also used a cup of reg flour and cup of whole wheat. I imagine if I had used cake flour, it would have been more akin to cupcakes. I also just realized I used soda not powder, which probably accounts for super floaty texture. Also, I had forgotten about the great muffin tin disaster of 08, and so I only had mini-muffin tins on hand. I made four dozen mini muffins, and they were done in about 10 minutes, quite possibly less. Just enough time for one pan to finish cooking while I filled the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
The temp was way too high, and even after I baked these at 375F instead of 400F, they burned after 20 mins. I used blueberry jam, which caramelizes easily, and they leaked unto the pan and burned. My husband is not going to be overjoyed when he comes home from work today. I will use just jam in the middle next time, and cook at 350F for 20-25 mins. I think this will help! On the plus side, the muffins taste like homemade candy on the tops :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
The kids absolutely loved these muffins... The batter is a good basic muffin recipe. I doubled it and substituted wheat flour for 1/4 of the flour (so 1/2 c in the standard recipe.) I divided the batter in 4 and made batches with cherry jam, strawberry jam, blueberry jam, and pumpkin butter. To the pumpkin butter batter, I added a little cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves. They were all a huge hit, but the pumpkin ones especially. Now I am kicking myself because I've had this jar of pumpkin butter sitting in my fridge forever and never thought to use it for baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I thought the muffin batter was a bit bland. I might make again, but stir some jam, lemon juice, or vanilla into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
okay, i am giving these a 4 star because i had issues with the yield quantity. i halved the recipe to 1/2 a dozen and I still got a dozen! Taste wise, was delicious. i know if i make this recipe again to halve it twice to make 6 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
The muffins were good, I only had grape and orange jam on hand, but they worked well. I doubled the recipe with no problems. I did not find them too sweet, they were just right. We will be making them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom to Twins- Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States