Jam Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
These were really really good. I've made these before but they were called "Top Hats" I believe. I used some of my Gramma's home made raspberry jam with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Lenore, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
These came out perfect and tasted like a muffin crossed with a scone!! Oh, they were beautiful. I had to make some changes to the recipe because I'm at a higher altitude. I found the changes from a lady that doesn't live at high altitude but used one of the tips: PREHEAT the oven to 400 degrees and when you put your muffins in, bring down the temp to 350 (what eminee suggested-or to whatever the recipe you're using calls for). They had perfect domes, I made 12, just great! I have been looking for a recipe like this for years-my cousin made them when I was prob 8 years old and I never had them since, but always wanted to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grinnell, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
My mom used to make jam-filled muffins. I hadn't thought about it for a long time, then I found this recipe today. I halved the recipe so I could make 6 muffins in the toaster oven and not heat up the whole kitchen by using the big oven. (It's August!) I used half white wheat flour, Splenda instead of sugar, red currant and black currant preserves, and chopped hazelnuts on top. When assembling the muffins, put a bit of batter in the bottom of the muffin cup, then add a dab of jam (not too much), then top with more batter. Try to "seal" in the jam with the batter so it doesn't boil out. Don't put in too much jam or it will boil over and burn and stick in the pan. These were really good! It's not an overly sweet, caky muffin, but a more traditional muffin that's slightly sweet. (Like how scones are supposed to be only slightly sweet, not the icky cake-cookie concoctions at Starbuck's--too sweet!) The real sweetness comes from the jam inside, all hot and melty. Let the muffins cool a minute or two before you bite into it...keep the kids away for a bit, you know they're going to grab 'em right away. The jam inside is HOT and you don't want to burn your mouth. YUMMY breakfast muffin and super easy, with ingredients you have on hand. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kentuckyliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Excellent recipe for a good breakfast muffin. While not extravagant, these muffins take little time to put together for fantastic results. I took the advice of Eminee and put the jam in the middle of the muffin instead of on the top. While the recipe is great as is, I'm now in the habit of adding 1/4 c more white sugar and 1 tsp vanilla to suit my personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I loved this recipe! I am not a cook, but I know you have to make this your own. It is a great basic recipe that you can have fun with. I also mixed the jam into the better, next time I will add even more. You cannot go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
These muffins were hard and too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
It is a wonderfull recipe and I have done it many times. I showed to my sister and she is doing it all the time to serve it to her customers. Thank you very much for this wonderfull site. Amal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
everyone complained this recipe was bland. I found the quick and easy solution was a small amount of chocolate chips. It was perfect!I used raspberry jam. They were delicious and with 10 seconds in the microwave it was like they were fresh out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
tasty, though a little bland. I sprinkled sugar on top and put the jam inside the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
These muffins are ok. Nothing really special. I took the advice of another, and placed the jam in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States