Jam Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I made a few changes for a healthier muffin, used splenda instead of sugar, subbed 1 cup of whole wheat flour for 1 cup of all purpose white flour, squeezed in juice from 1 orange, added 1/2 a tsp of almond extract for flavor and added a few cut up strawberries to the batter. Tasted great, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
A wonderful recipes but I did tweak it a bit...I added about a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to batter. I also used a raspberry jam and put a blackberry in the center of muffin before sealing it in with more batter then added a cinnamon streusel topping. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
These muffins were amazing!!! I added a little bit more sugar(around 1/4 cup) I found a lot of people were saying these were bland and dry, but I didn't have that problem at all. They were cooked perfectly by 15 min and they weren't golden once cooked. It's a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Every Sunday, I make muffins and bring them to church for the missionaries. I made these this morning, and they were so good, I wanted to keep them for myself! I had read other reviews where the jam burned. I didn't want this to happen, so I put a batter in each cup, put the jam on top and then placed the rest of the batter on top of the jam. I then took a spatula and spread the batter so that I couldn't see any jam. Some of the jam did bubble up out of the batter, but it didn't burn. It left kind of sugary crust where it had bubbled up. The muffin batter itself is a good base and I'm excited about what I can do next Sunday with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marshall, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
These muffins were delicious and moist. If I hadn't have followed another users advice and not added axtra jam to the mixture they would have been bland. They weren't the best muffins, but still delicious! They went down well with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lottie Anne R-P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Even after adding an additional 1/4 cup sugar as another reviewer suggested and 1/4 cup cocoa powder these muffins were still fairly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I really enjoyed these muffins, I made them with strawberry jam and because I had no muffin cases at the time I put the mixture in a deep heart-shaped tray which made several large muffins. I especially liked the way they were crispy on the outside and nice and spongy and sweet on the inside. I only had to open my cupboards and I immediatly had all the ingredients and the instructions were easy to follow. Next time I will perhaps add glazed cherries or chocolate chips to the mixture to liven up the middle of the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This was a great, easy recipe for breakfast. My kids loved them, and I loved how easy they were to make. I blended the strawberry jam in with the wet ingredients. Next time I am also going to add chopped strawberries. Not a sweet muffin but it is a recipe that can be altered quite easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonanza, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Make this in a spring form pan with homemade jam which is much sweeter than store bought, add a crumb topping to it and it is good, you can tell by the extra baking powder and lack of sugar that this recipe depends on the jam to sweeten it, it was fast , easy and very good as a breakfast cake, experiment with it , I added fresh blackberries from the garden and used a brown sugar crumb topping, as well as cinnamon, this is a basic recipe so it is good for people who like to add their own touches to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I forgot to add the sugar! Duh! That's why my muffins tasted so blah. Not the recipe's fault. I ended up with scones with the jam built in! I also added 1/3 cup dessicated coconut to the dry ingredients for extra oomph! Ah well, better luck next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States