Jam Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I just whipped this recipe up in about an hour and a half, with all clean up and such. Here's the recipe I followed (from various readers input and what I had in my kitchen): * 2 cups all-purpose flour * 1/4 cup white sugar * 1/4 cup brown sugar (plus some extra for topping) * 3 teaspoons baking powder * 1/2 teaspoon salt * 3/4 cup milk * 1 tsp. vanilla * 1/3 cup applesauce * 1 egg * 2 tablespoons any flavor fruit jam I also put the jam in the middle (as some suggested) and it was delicious. I think the best way to do it is to mix it in a tiny bit (marble it) with a fork. That way it doesn't bubble up as much. Before baking, I also sprinkled a teaspoon or so of brown sugar on the tops. Just plain brown sugar. It hardened and blended in during the baking, BUT it tastes delicious. Gives it an extra kick with a little crunch and some sweetness, to balance the batter (since the jam resided mostly in the bottom on mine). These were very easy to make, and I had all the ingredients in the house, which makes it better. A little bit of jam bubbled up on the outside of my pan, but I just rinsed it under hot water, and scrubbed it right after I took the muffins out. It took maybe three minutes to clean, and wasn't that hard. Overall, this recipe is a solid 4. Tasty, but not amazingly outstanding. But I will probably make it again- it's easy and the men of the house seem to like it. =) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lissylulu
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
These were easy to make and really yummy. My girls (4 and 2) loved these as well. The pan was a bit hard to clean up, but it was a great treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lissylulu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Excellent! Didn't modify these at all and loved them. A great way to use precious home-made jams so that they're really appreciated. I agree with a previous reviewer that they're a bit scone-like, only with the jam built in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I am usually a cuppycake maker but muffins seemed good tonight! I used Smuckers Sugar-free Blueberry preserves for the jam. I also added about 1/4 cinnamon and 1/4 c vanilla to the mix. However, I calculated the recipe for 36 servings. The dough is thick and burnt out my little electric mixer motor (oops) but they smell wonderful and look like they'll be done baking after 12 minutes at 375. The batter tastes great with some additional ingredients. Thanks for this recipe! Super fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
These are a very good breakfast treat. It tastes much better if you fill half the batter in the muffin tins, place the jelly in the middle, and fill will the rest of the batter so the jelly doesn't get hard and burnt. I also added some vanilla for a little p'zaz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Bowden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
These muffins were lacking some serious flavor and the jam more acted like a glazed on the top rather than a filling. They were okay, but I probably won't try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy
Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Good, but the muffin itself needs a bit more flavor. We added 1/2 tsp vanilla, (next time we might add 1 tsp). We also increased sugar to 2/3 cup (next time we might try part brown sugar.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I thought that adding the jam to the muffins was a great idea. I used apricot jam and added a tiny amount of almond flavoring to the batter. I tested the muffins at 16 minutes and they were already overbaked! So as a result, they were dry, but the taste was very good. I'm going to try them again, but either cut the oven temp down some or be more careful with my timing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I really liked these. Not too sweet, great texture -- tasted like scones but a lot easier. I tried a few different jams in the first batch -- strawberry,orange marmalade,and a vanilla/lemon marmalade. The vanilla/lemon were the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
simple and quick muffin recipe. I did add cinnamon and vanilla like in other reviews, it gave it more flavor. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Quinoa Muffins

A great breakfast or lunch recipe for leftover quinoa.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States