Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This recipe is the one of my personal favorites, I absoulty adore polish food, great recipe keep up thr good work :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I have never made these before....Well worth the time it took to make them and easy on the wallet! I will definately be making these every year for Christmas. One of the best cookies I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I make these cookies all the time. Its incredibly easy and quick to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Made these this weekend, hubby and I both thought they were good. I made a double batch since it said one batch only yielded 12 cookies. A few tweaks I would make...I used about a 3" round cookie cutter (unlike the 2" sugggested) and then rolled the cookies into an oval, they closed better. I did get 25 from my double batch (had I used a 2" cutter I would have had quite a few more) but could have rolled them a bit thinner. Thinnerwill work better as a couple of mine unrolled in the oven when baking. Next time I will use a square cookie cutter and just fold two corners together. Also, a 1/4 teaspoon of jam is not nearly enough, even if the cookie is cut with a 2" round cutter. I would think at least 1/2 a teaspoon, I used about a whole teaspoon and didn't have much spillage at all. I used some homemade strawberry jam, but also some blackberry as well. My grandma used to always have these at her house around Christmas time filled with apricot jam and they didn't have powdered sugar on them, they had sanding sugar sprinkled in the top baked in, so I did that also and skipped the powdered sugar all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
loved these cookies.it got over very quickly..my husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
these feel dry if you eat them day of baking but are great the day after. think I will use a larger cookie cutter next time as these were really small and I like mine bigger. great Christmas cookie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Fabulous Kolache recipe!!! The dough is tender (I live in New Mexico at a high altitude and had to add a 1/4 cup of flour and a 1/4 cup of water but I know I have to compensate for the altitude) and is a wonderful match to the jam filling!!! Yum!!! Thank you for posting!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made these using polish sausage/hotdogs. They took a little longer to bake but came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I had a hard time to keep these cookies from opening up. I tried pinching the dough closed and that seemed to help. I also found them to be bland. If I make them again I would try using some almond extract in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I love the taste of these cookies, but try as I might I could not get them to stay folded over. I tried pinching them together as well as dampening one edge before folding. I ended up making some of them look like little turnovers. That method worked best but not perfectly. Next time I might use the recipe to make thumb print cookies. Does anyone have any suggestions for me that would help make my cookies come out like the one in the photo?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States