Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
The cookies were very nice and flakey. I added a splash of vanilla to the dough and used raspberry jam because that's all I had. Before baking I sprinkled on a little white sugar and they were the perfect sweetness. The only thing is that the jam did run all over the place. Thank goodness for parchment. I may try this recipe for thumbprints since the jam is sure to stay where it belongs and I really did enoy the dough. ETA: Thumbprints don't work but empanadas do! I use a round cookie cutter and then put a blob of jam in the middle. I folded it in half and used a fork all the way around to seal it. Roll it in sugar or cinnamon sugar depending on your jam flavour before baking. Cinnamon sugar tastes good with apricot jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Leaves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Very easy recipe. I used a can of Solo pie filling(cherry) and it never bubbled out. I also rolled the cookie in a sugar and cinnamon mix as someone else suggested when they come out of the oven. I doubled the recipe and got 3 doz. out of it. Next year I am making these for our cookie exchange and adding different fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I thought these were very good and very easy. Thank-you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
They taste like Poptarts. Not too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
These are fabulous! I treated this dough like a pie crust, and it came out perfectly! I chilled my bowl and utensils before starting and I cut the flour into the the butter/cream cheese. Then I let my dough sit in the refrigerator wrapped in waxed paper over night. Use wet fingers to seal the dough together in the middle. I used Solo Pie Filling (three different kinds) and doubled the recipe. Next time I'll triple it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This is nothing like the Kolaches I remember as a child. The dough was very hard to work with, even after chilling. And they don't taste very good. I won't be making them again, and will continue looking for a recipe that reminds me of the ones I had about 30 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I used to work at a bakery and we made these in apricot and raspberry. I cut them into 2 x 2 sqaures, use a pastry bag filled with jam to place it on the dough instead of a spoon. Then fold them in half so one corner overlaps the opposite corner, and use my finger to pinch the dough together so they don't come apart. I think chilling the dough for only 15-20 minutes works best, as it is too stiff to seal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Delicious. This was the first time I had to make them since my grandmother passed away. They reminded me of hers exactly. Here what I noticed: -Cold dough is MUCH easier to deal with -Make sure there is plenty of flour underneath your dough -Make sure to leave jam in the center instead of pushing it all out to the edges look nice. There is more dough in the center after folding, so you need to keep more jam there to distribute flavor evenly. -I used leftover Thanksgiving cranberry sauce and thickened it with some orange marmalade. The flavor was great (thicker jams might look better though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This was a recipe i had got from my grandmother and had made only once and never wrote it down. Very easy, delicious and traditional for Polish families. Thanks for posting this recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mdavis22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Very good recipe and easy. I refrigerated the dough overnight, used Solo filling and cut out the cookies with square cutters instead of round. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States