Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
They taste wonderful, but they all fell apart in the oven....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I made these for my polish in-laws at christmas. I did raspberry and apricot. They loved them, and have asked that I make them at christmas every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I love the way these look on the cookie tray! There was definitely a learning curve on my technique however. But by the end of the process I figured it out. I experimented by using butter flavor Crisco instead of my usual unsalted butter and that could be the reason I'm not in love with the taste of these. I used confectioners sugar to roll out and even after sprinkling them with more, the dough is still not sweet enough for me. I may try again with real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These are my new favorite cookie. I cannot get them to consistently stay closed so I gave up and started making them like thumbprint cookies. I made the with peach preserves, fig preserves and raspberry jam. All were delicious, but the fig preserves were too runny - the jam/preserves you use definately make a difference. These taste like the raspberry cookies that Pepperidge farm makes. They are so delicious. I think mine didn't roll properly b/c I didn't make them big enough, but regardless, I love them and plan to use some of them for cookie plates for neighbors and teachers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Overall, a decent cookie. The dough wouldn't stay together while it baked, so I just folded them in half, perogy style. I wouldn't make these for Christmas (which was my original plan) b/c they lack the "WoW" factor I feel Christmas cookies should have. We ate them just to get rid of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
my kids love these i have them help by closing them and putting the preserve i would not change a thing thanks for this awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Better than the bakery! I usually have all the ingredients in my kitchen, so these are perfect for last minute baking. If the jam is seeping out, you may be using too much. I always measure 1/4 t. precisely for each cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Flavor was nice. I don't know if it was me or what but the cookies came unpinched while baking. Anyhow- flavor was good but they looked a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Easy and delicious!! I used Solo brand almond filling. Cookie perfection =))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This really worked out well for me! Thanks for users posts and advice on using butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States