Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Dough was sticky and difficult to work with. Ended up tasting like bad shortbread. I think there needs to be a little sugar and salt in the dough. I came across a similar recipe in my grandmother's recipe collection that had the same ingredients and proportions but had sugar and salt as well- so will try that next. Might try Solo filling next time as well. Just wishing they had more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I saved this recipe for a few years and finally got to make the jam kolaches...boy they are delicious. I made one mistake..put too much jam and they ran..next batch used less and they were great..one tip I would like to share on thse is ...when the dough was ready I tore a small pice off and rolled it into a ball (use flour to coat your surface first ) and then I rolled it shaping into a circle as i rolled..it was easier than the original recipe called for. thanks for sharing this Polish (which I am ) recipe with us..It tastes just like what my old Auntie used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
These are one of my favorites. My co-workers love them too. One said they are just like his Polish grandmother used to make. Another said they were just like the ones his mother used to make in Romania (although she cut them into squares instead of circles). I suggest using tangier preserves like red currant, another tip from my Romanian friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
These are fantastic. They taste more like a cookie than a pastry though. If you are looking for the fluffy kind from the bakery, these are not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This is the recipe I have been looking for. Made them exactly as directed and they were wonderful. I did use a combination of flour and powdered sugar to roll out the dough. I do have a Kitchen Aid mixer so mixing the dough was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Yummy, just like the auntie's!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This is a simple recipe that turns out pretty darn good. I do recommend using less flour, though; otherwise the dough pills instead of blends. The dough was also too thick for my hand mixer to handle. To make it simpler, I rolled the dough into balls, then flattened the balls into round shapes in my hands. (I think rolling dough on a flat surface is too fussy.) This worked just fine. I also used pie filling, and one small can was enough for 4 batches! You only need a little filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
this seems really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
We love these. My husband and nephew filled them and folded them into little pockets, like pierogis so the jam didn't bake out. These are very similar the to the polish cookies my husband's grandmother makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I tried making this recipe twice. Both times my dough was so sticky that it was impossible to roll out. It stuck to everything! Maybe I am doing something wrong, but I tried twice and got the same result both times. I was very disappointed because I was REALLY looking forward to making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States