Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I found the recipe quite easy and the cookies are very tasty. I would be inclined to add just a little honey to the dough to give it a little more sweetness. The only bad thing I have to say about the recipe is that I couldn't get the cookies to stay curled up together, they just came apart. Next time I will just do them into a thumb print cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
The Jam Kolaches were one of the easiest things I've ever made. The jam wrapper was really very flakey. I will definitely be making these again. Thank you Karen Wood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Wonderful! Outstanding flavor, texture and presentation. I use a gourmet peach jam and have no problem with the filling running. I also added a tiny bit of almond extract. The few that I made for my children with basic strawberry jam did not turn out as well. Great idea below to cut these square with a cookie cutter. I think that will save time and allow me to make another batch before Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe and everyone loved the cookies. You have to make sure you really pinch the dough together or they will unravel while they bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Sharood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I make these every year, Theyre fabulous and diabetic friendly depending on your filling. I have found through trial and error that the filling MUST be thickened with cornstarch to avoid it melting and running all over the pan. To prepare the filling, melt your jam in a small saucepan, then make your cornstarch slurry with about a tablespoon of cornstarch mixed with enough COLD water to make a loose paste, then add to your jam and cook until thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Simerly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I remember this being in a WOMAN'S DAY or FAMILY CIRCLE magazine in thelate 1950's or early 1960's. MoM always made these and I still do. They're wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
i thought these were easy to make and everyone loves them. I make them for holidays. it seems AUNTBUG has a difficult time with alot of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I been making this for years and they go fast. I also use this recipe to make a pasty just have to bake for 30 in. Roll it out like a pasty and put your jam on it and fold it over. I use a pizza cuter to cut my pasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Knop Babski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Fredonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
such a wonderful delight for my family!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Grant City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
my grandmother makes kolaches and this was a bland recipe that was hardly authentic. i am going to stick with hers, even if it takes a bit longer to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States