Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Super Fabulous! Just made these and love them. They're a hit and I feel so accomplished being able to make them But, they were so easy to do. I did let the dough sit for a few hours in the frig and rolled them out on a flour/powdered sugar combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Mikula Hatton
Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Finally found a recipe thatt taste like Mom use to make. Her recipe was lost and I had almost given up finding one. I used a square cookie cutter and a little egg white to seal cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I made these yesterdayl. Very easy to make and very tasty. Not too sweet. My Polish heritage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Also easier to cut in circles and thumbprint the middle and fill with solo filling....great fun for kids to do..spent my childhood helping my mom make these that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Being rushed this year to get my baking done I rolled this dough out into a 10" by 20" square and then cut into 2x2" squares. This worked perfectly and is most likely faster than cutting circles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Tip: For Christmas...instead of overlapping the dough to the center, try pinching it more to one side, this creates sort of a bell shape and with a red jam in it it looks like a Christmas bell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I lived in Europe and it seems EVERYONE all over the world LOVES these cookies. And being that EVERYONE has a family recipe. This one is delicious just as others are. One tip on the filling is to add superfine bread or cookie crumbs stirred into the jelly then there is no spillage when baked. DELICIOUS cookie. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Made this for Halloween last year. Put orange food coloring in the dough in order to make it more appropriate for the party. Everyone from old and young loved them. I did have trouble keeping the jelly in so I made them into mini-empanadas basically in the shape of pumpkins. Everyone loved the buttery flaky pastry. Huge hit and the hostess is requesting them again for this year. Thank for helping me appear to be a great baker!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
The cookie part of this is terrific! I wanted to use up some jam (not a fan of it on toast), so I made these. They were really easy and quick, although I need to work on presentation. I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGANANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Getting thinner is better because it's easier to roll them up and don't cheat on the 2" circles. The amount of jam called for divided by 2 dozen cookies is 1/2 tsp. of jam each, and it works if it's rolled thin & jam put more into the center. I was afraid to push the edges together for fear of squashing the things, but the first batch opened, so I went ahead and pressed on them a bit after that and they were fine. And really watch the bake time - these aren't something you want to overbake! They are like a shortbread and the cream cheese is very subtle. They are on the dry side and the jam helps give them moisture and flavor. In addition to the strawberry, I also did mint, blackberry and grape, and thought the strawberry and mint added the best flavor. (I think apple would be good but didn't have any.) My original opinion was about a 3.5. I'm not a super sweet freak so no issues with the lack of sweetness - just seemed a bit dry. One lady who tried them thought they were a 5 (and loved the lack of sweetness) and a guy thought one flavor was 3.5 and the other 3.8. (One lady who was *Polish* didn't try them!) That kind of all averaged out to about a 4. And I discovered they are a little better the next day - I don't know if others would agree. And they are very pretty. (I agree on the butter. I used real butter and couldn't imagine using margarine with this. And because I can't resist - the description calls these COOKIES so why expect pastry?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States