Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Made this for Halloween last year. Put orange food coloring in the dough in order to make it more appropriate for the party. Everyone from old and young loved them. I did have trouble keeping the jelly in so I made them into mini-empanadas basically in the shape of pumpkins. Everyone loved the buttery flaky pastry. Huge hit and the hostess is requesting them again for this year. Thank for helping me appear to be a great baker!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
The cookie part of this is terrific! I wanted to use up some jam (not a fan of it on toast), so I made these. They were really easy and quick, although I need to work on presentation. I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGANANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Getting thinner is better because it's easier to roll them up and don't cheat on the 2" circles. The amount of jam called for divided by 2 dozen cookies is 1/2 tsp. of jam each, and it works if it's rolled thin & jam put more into the center. I was afraid to push the edges together for fear of squashing the things, but the first batch opened, so I went ahead and pressed on them a bit after that and they were fine. And really watch the bake time - these aren't something you want to overbake! They are like a shortbread and the cream cheese is very subtle. They are on the dry side and the jam helps give them moisture and flavor. In addition to the strawberry, I also did mint, blackberry and grape, and thought the strawberry and mint added the best flavor. (I think apple would be good but didn't have any.) My original opinion was about a 3.5. I'm not a super sweet freak so no issues with the lack of sweetness - just seemed a bit dry. One lady who tried them thought they were a 5 (and loved the lack of sweetness) and a guy thought one flavor was 3.5 and the other 3.8. (One lady who was *Polish* didn't try them!) That kind of all averaged out to about a 4. And I discovered they are a little better the next day - I don't know if others would agree. And they are very pretty. (I agree on the butter. I used real butter and couldn't imagine using margarine with this. And because I can't resist - the description calls these COOKIES so why expect pastry?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Unbelievably easy and very delicious- used a heart shape cutter and folded the heart, excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Tasted great... don't put too much jam or it will spill over onto the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Great recipe! I used apricot fruit spread. The tip about sealing the cookie closed with a little water helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I liked this recipe enough to know I like the cookie, but I'll be searching for a different one, with more cream cheese and less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Great as a pie crust recipe. Not like any kolachy I have ever had. More like tiny folded over pies. DO NOT USE SMUCKERS ALL FRUIT! It ran out of the crust, made a mess and the whole batch had to be tossed due to almost no fruit inside..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly as it says. Easy to prepare, although I also had trouble with the filling melting out during baking. I used red currant jam. After the cookies cooled, I stored in a zip lock baggie. Because of the way the jam melted, I did not include in our cookie tray and kind of forgot about them. Several days later, I found the bag, tried one and LOVED IT!! The texture was perfect and taste was incredible. I am so glad I didn't use them in the cookie trays since it left them all for me, lol. Most definitely making again, and as far as the melted jam, it's ok. It left the right amount in the cookie and it wasn't too sweet or gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Really enjoyed these. They were light, had good flavor and addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States