Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
That is a good recipe except try using Solo fillings It is so much better. The apricot is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. The dough is very delicate and moist, but bland, maybe if there was some sugar in the dough it would be better. Won't be making these again anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milverton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I had lost the version handed down to me and was thrilled to see this printed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
It tasted fine but I won't make again for following reasons: 1)This is a fairly bland cookie with most of the flavor coming from the jam. 2) the recipe as it stands makes very few cookies - less than 20. 3) a little labor intensive with the sticky dough A note: though it is our less prefered jam, the orange marmalade tasted better than strawberry or blueberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
these are DELICIOUS. I have made thm several times. I usualy use strabery jam like the recipie says but they are good with apercot jam to. Usualy to keep them closed in the oven i dip my finger in a glass of water and then lightly push the doe down while at the same time rubing the water on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Wow! These turned out great! The dough was moist to roll too. Didn't have cream cheese on hand so substituted it with plain Greek yogurt. All the same stuff :) since every oven is different mine took a few extra minutes. I think anybody could make this. It was very easy!!! Even being 13. Since the actual cookie is pretty bland I added some vanilla to the dough while mixing. Tip: I didn't measure the jam for each kolache but don't put too much or it will melt out and might stick to the sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
These were amazing!! These are Polish cookies, and my dad who is from Poland loved these, because they weren't as sweet as all the other cookies I make. He never actually said if he liked them or not, but he ate them all the time and had the most out of any of us so I think they're approved. Great recipe! Just don't put too much jam on them or it'll spill out while baking and burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Made these for Christmas.....a lot of work to yield not many cookies, with a just OK flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Krol Rothfuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
My husbands Czech grandma made him these as a kid. I surprised him for his bday with them. I have such a sweet tooth, I couldnt imagine no sugar in the dough. So I replaced about 1/4 cup of the flour with powdered sugar. Also a big pinch of salt to balance it all out. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Ferrill Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I really like the simplicity of this recipe. As is, it is quite delicious. However, I did make a few changes to the dough to add a little more flavor. I doubled the recipe for starters(the amount of cookies this makes would last about 5 seconds in my house.) Then I added about 4 tbsps of sugar and grated zest of 1 lemon. I chilled the dough for an hour as other reviewers have suggested and after rolling I cut 2 1/2" squares. For the filling I used homemade black currant preserves. To solve the jam leaking problem; I mixed some tapioca flour into the preserves to thicken it. I also made a little dent with my fingers in the center of the square before putting on the jam. For the first batch I didn't use water to seal the corners closed so a lot of them opened. So for the second batch I did use the water and it seemed to work very well :). They turned out great! The lemon and black currant go really well together. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rrgdancer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States