Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I had a hard time to keep these cookies from opening up. I tried pinching the dough closed and that seemed to help. I also found them to be bland. If I make them again I would try using some almond extract in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I love the taste of these cookies, but try as I might I could not get them to stay folded over. I tried pinching them together as well as dampening one edge before folding. I ended up making some of them look like little turnovers. That method worked best but not perfectly. Next time I might use the recipe to make thumb print cookies. Does anyone have any suggestions for me that would help make my cookies come out like the one in the photo?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
That is a good recipe except try using Solo fillings It is so much better. The apricot is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. The dough is very delicate and moist, but bland, maybe if there was some sugar in the dough it would be better. Won't be making these again anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milverton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I had lost the version handed down to me and was thrilled to see this printed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
It tasted fine but I won't make again for following reasons: 1)This is a fairly bland cookie with most of the flavor coming from the jam. 2) the recipe as it stands makes very few cookies - less than 20. 3) a little labor intensive with the sticky dough A note: though it is our less prefered jam, the orange marmalade tasted better than strawberry or blueberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
these are DELICIOUS. I have made thm several times. I usualy use strabery jam like the recipie says but they are good with apercot jam to. Usualy to keep them closed in the oven i dip my finger in a glass of water and then lightly push the doe down while at the same time rubing the water on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Wow! These turned out great! The dough was moist to roll too. Didn't have cream cheese on hand so substituted it with plain Greek yogurt. All the same stuff :) since every oven is different mine took a few extra minutes. I think anybody could make this. It was very easy!!! Even being 13. Since the actual cookie is pretty bland I added some vanilla to the dough while mixing. Tip: I didn't measure the jam for each kolache but don't put too much or it will melt out and might stick to the sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
These were amazing!! These are Polish cookies, and my dad who is from Poland loved these, because they weren't as sweet as all the other cookies I make. He never actually said if he liked them or not, but he ate them all the time and had the most out of any of us so I think they're approved. Great recipe! Just don't put too much jam on them or it'll spill out while baking and burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Made these for Christmas.....a lot of work to yield not many cookies, with a just OK flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorroth1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States