Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Very easy recipe. I used a can of Solo pie filling(cherry) and it never bubbled out. I also rolled the cookie in a sugar and cinnamon mix as someone else suggested when they come out of the oven. I doubled the recipe and got 3 doz. out of it. Next year I am making these for our cookie exchange and adding different fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I thought these were very good and very easy. Thank-you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
They taste like Poptarts. Not too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
These are fabulous! I treated this dough like a pie crust, and it came out perfectly! I chilled my bowl and utensils before starting and I cut the flour into the the butter/cream cheese. Then I let my dough sit in the refrigerator wrapped in waxed paper over night. Use wet fingers to seal the dough together in the middle. I used Solo Pie Filling (three different kinds) and doubled the recipe. Next time I'll triple it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This is nothing like the Kolaches I remember as a child. The dough was very hard to work with, even after chilling. And they don't taste very good. I won't be making them again, and will continue looking for a recipe that reminds me of the ones I had about 30 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I used to work at a bakery and we made these in apricot and raspberry. I cut them into 2 x 2 sqaures, use a pastry bag filled with jam to place it on the dough instead of a spoon. Then fold them in half so one corner overlaps the opposite corner, and use my finger to pinch the dough together so they don't come apart. I think chilling the dough for only 15-20 minutes works best, as it is too stiff to seal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Delicious. This was the first time I had to make them since my grandmother passed away. They reminded me of hers exactly. Here what I noticed: -Cold dough is MUCH easier to deal with -Make sure there is plenty of flour underneath your dough -Make sure to leave jam in the center instead of pushing it all out to the edges look nice. There is more dough in the center after folding, so you need to keep more jam there to distribute flavor evenly. -I used leftover Thanksgiving cranberry sauce and thickened it with some orange marmalade. The flavor was great (thicker jams might look better though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This was a recipe i had got from my grandmother and had made only once and never wrote it down. Very easy, delicious and traditional for Polish families. Thanks for posting this recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mdavis22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Very good recipe and easy. I refrigerated the dough overnight, used Solo filling and cut out the cookies with square cutters instead of round. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I thought the dough was very sticky to work with. The jams/jellies I used were probably not top quality, I read the reviews afterwards. Also, I agree with other reviewers that said they were not quite sweet enough. Thanks for letting me try a different kolache recipe! Also, I made round kolaches instead of the fold-over method. Tried to make a cream cheese filling but that was kind of redunant because the dough has cream cheese in it. Definitely needs a very sweet jelly or jam to off-set the lack of sugar in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States