Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
It was ok.. too chewy the jam fell out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChastityC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
These cookies are known as pitky pronounced(pit-key)in my house. This is simlar to my grandmothers recipe, to help the dough from sticking to the counter, mix half cup flour and half cup sugar when rolling out and cutting, and it is best to refridgerate the dough over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Just an added note to my review. I used a convection oven and dropped the baking time to 11 1/2 minutes. Also, if I left them in past 11 1/2 minutes, some filling ran out the ends, not a big deal. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
These came out pretty good. They reminded me of a butter cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina72913

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Fantastic cookie! Extra powdered sugar helps.. cookie dough is also makes an incredible pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Needham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
delicious recipe, only problem I had was getting them to stay together at the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I was scared when I first tried the dough. It tasted like a really bad shortbread & I don't like shortbread. But after baking, these were delicious. made them for Christmas cookies. Have made them 3 times since in a week. very good. Also try with nut filling also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
My mom was from Czechoslovakia and this recipe is very similar to hers. We always filled them with a mixture of walnuts, melted butter and a small amount of sugar. Another difference is that we rolled them using powdered sugar instead of flour to keep them from sticking to the bakers mat. This last Christmas I experimented and used some dried cherries, apricots and plums in the center and they were terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
These kolaches are good but you really, really need to use Solo fillings and not jam. The jam runs out in the oven, collects around the edge of the kolach, hardens and doesn't look too pretty. 2" circles make really small ones, I used 2.5" and it was still too small. Will make these again and make them bigger. The dough has a nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swidgen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was a very easy recipe and it tasted great! I had some leftover cream cheese filling which I was using for another recipes which has a little sour cream, vanilla, lemon juice and sugar and I mixed that into the flour. I also used Solo pie filling instead of jam. The consistency of the dough was great and also worked very well as a pie shell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States