Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I have made this for several occasions, substituting cherry pie filling for the jam, and they are the first cookies to be devoured--everyone always wants more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vparillo
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
The best way to close the cookie is to pinch both opposite ends together with a little water then fold over this keeps cookie from opening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Being Polish, I have been wanting to try this recipe for a while. I remember a Polish woman making something similar, but hers were just a small circle (no overlapping) with jam in the circumference indentation (going to try that another time). I chilled the dough overnight, but I'm sure a few hours would be good. I rolled them into 1" balls (to save time and trouble), made an indentation and put the jam in. Some I made with raspberry jam, others with orange marmalade. I tried one after baking for about 12 min. and found it was not cooked to my liking inside (and my oven runs hot). I just threw it back in for another few minutess. I dusted with powdered sugar and look forward to having with a cup of tea later! NOTE: I only got about 19 making them into 1" balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This recipe is the one of my personal favorites, I absoulty adore polish food, great recipe keep up thr good work :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I have never made these before....Well worth the time it took to make them and easy on the wallet! I will definately be making these every year for Christmas. One of the best cookies I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I make these cookies all the time. Its incredibly easy and quick to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Made these this weekend, hubby and I both thought they were good. I made a double batch since it said one batch only yielded 12 cookies. A few tweaks I would make...I used about a 3" round cookie cutter (unlike the 2" sugggested) and then rolled the cookies into an oval, they closed better. I did get 25 from my double batch (had I used a 2" cutter I would have had quite a few more) but could have rolled them a bit thinner. Thinnerwill work better as a couple of mine unrolled in the oven when baking. Next time I will use a square cookie cutter and just fold two corners together. Also, a 1/4 teaspoon of jam is not nearly enough, even if the cookie is cut with a 2" round cutter. I would think at least 1/2 a teaspoon, I used about a whole teaspoon and didn't have much spillage at all. I used some homemade strawberry jam, but also some blackberry as well. My grandma used to always have these at her house around Christmas time filled with apricot jam and they didn't have powdered sugar on them, they had sanding sugar sprinkled in the top baked in, so I did that also and skipped the powdered sugar all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
loved these cookies.it got over very quickly..my husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
these feel dry if you eat them day of baking but are great the day after. think I will use a larger cookie cutter next time as these were really small and I like mine bigger. great Christmas cookie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Fabulous Kolache recipe!!! The dough is tender (I live in New Mexico at a high altitude and had to add a 1/4 cup of flour and a 1/4 cup of water but I know I have to compensate for the altitude) and is a wonderful match to the jam filling!!! Yum!!! Thank you for posting!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States