Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
These are a very traditional eastern European cookie. My family is Hungarian and we make these as well. This is a great recipe because the dough is not to sweet. I love these and make them every Christmas. I recommend Solo filling as well. This is a wonderful recipe, so good I always double it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Just made these with a couple friends, and I love how easy they are to make. Leaves a lot open to adjust flavors for the filling, and the dough is simple, great for new cooks just learning how to bake. We made these with homemade strawberry jam and came out great. Currently sending the recipe to my parents to play with. Thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Delicious and easy. I roll out the dough and cut up and down and sideways so the dough is cut into 2 inch squares. Put a little filling in the middle of each square. Pinch 2 corners of each square together and push down into filling a little. Now just place them on a cookie sheet and bake. You'll be done in no time, and no wasted dough. They are much easier to store too. Takes a little practice to pinch them just right, but if they come undone, that's ok too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I love it they taste so good easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I have made this for several occasions, substituting cherry pie filling for the jam, and they are the first cookies to be devoured--everyone always wants more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vparillo
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
The best way to close the cookie is to pinch both opposite ends together with a little water then fold over this keeps cookie from opening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Being Polish, I have been wanting to try this recipe for a while. I remember a Polish woman making something similar, but hers were just a small circle (no overlapping) with jam in the circumference indentation (going to try that another time). I chilled the dough overnight, but I'm sure a few hours would be good. I rolled them into 1" balls (to save time and trouble), made an indentation and put the jam in. Some I made with raspberry jam, others with orange marmalade. I tried one after baking for about 12 min. and found it was not cooked to my liking inside (and my oven runs hot). I just threw it back in for another few minutess. I dusted with powdered sugar and look forward to having with a cup of tea later! NOTE: I only got about 19 making them into 1" balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This recipe is the one of my personal favorites, I absoulty adore polish food, great recipe keep up thr good work :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I have never made these before....Well worth the time it took to make them and easy on the wallet! I will definately be making these every year for Christmas. One of the best cookies I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I make these cookies all the time. Its incredibly easy and quick to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States