Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This is a simple recipe that turns out pretty darn good. I do recommend using less flour, though; otherwise the dough pills instead of blends. The dough was also too thick for my hand mixer to handle. To make it simpler, I rolled the dough into balls, then flattened the balls into round shapes in my hands. (I think rolling dough on a flat surface is too fussy.) This worked just fine. I also used pie filling, and one small can was enough for 4 batches! You only need a little filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
this seems really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
We love these. My husband and nephew filled them and folded them into little pockets, like pierogis so the jam didn't bake out. These are very similar the to the polish cookies my husband's grandmother makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I tried making this recipe twice. Both times my dough was so sticky that it was impossible to roll out. It stuck to everything! Maybe I am doing something wrong, but I tried twice and got the same result both times. I was very disappointed because I was REALLY looking forward to making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
They taste wonderful, but they all fell apart in the oven....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I made these for my polish in-laws at christmas. I did raspberry and apricot. They loved them, and have asked that I make them at christmas every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I love the way these look on the cookie tray! There was definitely a learning curve on my technique however. But by the end of the process I figured it out. I experimented by using butter flavor Crisco instead of my usual unsalted butter and that could be the reason I'm not in love with the taste of these. I used confectioners sugar to roll out and even after sprinkling them with more, the dough is still not sweet enough for me. I may try again with real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These are my new favorite cookie. I cannot get them to consistently stay closed so I gave up and started making them like thumbprint cookies. I made the with peach preserves, fig preserves and raspberry jam. All were delicious, but the fig preserves were too runny - the jam/preserves you use definately make a difference. These taste like the raspberry cookies that Pepperidge farm makes. They are so delicious. I think mine didn't roll properly b/c I didn't make them big enough, but regardless, I love them and plan to use some of them for cookie plates for neighbors and teachers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Overall, a decent cookie. The dough wouldn't stay together while it baked, so I just folded them in half, perogy style. I wouldn't make these for Christmas (which was my original plan) b/c they lack the "WoW" factor I feel Christmas cookies should have. We ate them just to get rid of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
my kids love these i have them help by closing them and putting the preserve i would not change a thing thanks for this awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States