Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Great recipe! I had never made this type of cookie before, and anticipated it to be difficult. It wasn't at all! This dough recipe is perfect. Great consistency and flavor. Easy to work with! I used Apricot, Blackberry and Strawberry natural jams/preserves. They were beautiful and a big hit! The trick for me was to not exceed the amount recommended of jam inside each cookie, and to give a little "pinch" to the dough when I folded it over, so it wouldn't separate during baking. Also, the dust of powdered sugar after baking is essential. Wonderful recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Tender, delicious... simple & SO good! We have eaten the first batch & are waiting for the second to come out of the oven! I found that the jam stays in the cookie when the dough has been refrigerated for 1 hour & tolled thin. Work with 1/2 at a time, keeping the other 1/2 refrigerated. Thank you for sharing the recipe! This will be a favorite for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These taste like mini raspberry pies - so delicious. Getting them to look good takes more technique than my 10-year-old assistant could master. I made the dough a few days ahead and refrigerated it. Don't do that unless you want to take time to "thaw" it because the butter and cream cheese hardens up and makes rolling difficult to impossible. Using wax paper or parchment between the rolling pin and dough might also make this easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I found the recipe quite easy and the cookies are very tasty. I would be inclined to add just a little honey to the dough to give it a little more sweetness. The only bad thing I have to say about the recipe is that I couldn't get the cookies to stay curled up together, they just came apart. Next time I will just do them into a thumb print cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
The Jam Kolaches were one of the easiest things I've ever made. The jam wrapper was really very flakey. I will definitely be making these again. Thank you Karen Wood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Wonderful! Outstanding flavor, texture and presentation. I use a gourmet peach jam and have no problem with the filling running. I also added a tiny bit of almond extract. The few that I made for my children with basic strawberry jam did not turn out as well. Great idea below to cut these square with a cookie cutter. I think that will save time and allow me to make another batch before Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe and everyone loved the cookies. You have to make sure you really pinch the dough together or they will unravel while they bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I make these every year, Theyre fabulous and diabetic friendly depending on your filling. I have found through trial and error that the filling MUST be thickened with cornstarch to avoid it melting and running all over the pan. To prepare the filling, melt your jam in a small saucepan, then make your cornstarch slurry with about a tablespoon of cornstarch mixed with enough COLD water to make a loose paste, then add to your jam and cook until thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I remember this being in a WOMAN'S DAY or FAMILY CIRCLE magazine in thelate 1950's or early 1960's. MoM always made these and I still do. They're wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
i thought these were easy to make and everyone loves them. I make them for holidays. it seems AUNTBUG has a difficult time with alot of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States