Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I liked this recipe enough to know I like the cookie, but I'll be searching for a different one, with more cream cheese and less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Great as a pie crust recipe. Not like any kolachy I have ever had. More like tiny folded over pies. DO NOT USE SMUCKERS ALL FRUIT! It ran out of the crust, made a mess and the whole batch had to be tossed due to almost no fruit inside..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly as it says. Easy to prepare, although I also had trouble with the filling melting out during baking. I used red currant jam. After the cookies cooled, I stored in a zip lock baggie. Because of the way the jam melted, I did not include in our cookie tray and kind of forgot about them. Several days later, I found the bag, tried one and LOVED IT!! The texture was perfect and taste was incredible. I am so glad I didn't use them in the cookie trays since it left them all for me, lol. Most definitely making again, and as far as the melted jam, it's ok. It left the right amount in the cookie and it wasn't too sweet or gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Really enjoyed these. They were light, had good flavor and addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These cookies were a nice and light addition to my cookie buffet. The only thing I would add it a little bit of sugar (not much though) to the dough just to add some sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Great recipe! I had never made this type of cookie before, and anticipated it to be difficult. It wasn't at all! This dough recipe is perfect. Great consistency and flavor. Easy to work with! I used Apricot, Blackberry and Strawberry natural jams/preserves. They were beautiful and a big hit! The trick for me was to not exceed the amount recommended of jam inside each cookie, and to give a little "pinch" to the dough when I folded it over, so it wouldn't separate during baking. Also, the dust of powdered sugar after baking is essential. Wonderful recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Tender, delicious... simple & SO good! We have eaten the first batch & are waiting for the second to come out of the oven! I found that the jam stays in the cookie when the dough has been refrigerated for 1 hour & tolled thin. Work with 1/2 at a time, keeping the other 1/2 refrigerated. Thank you for sharing the recipe! This will be a favorite for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These taste like mini raspberry pies - so delicious. Getting them to look good takes more technique than my 10-year-old assistant could master. I made the dough a few days ahead and refrigerated it. Don't do that unless you want to take time to "thaw" it because the butter and cream cheese hardens up and makes rolling difficult to impossible. Using wax paper or parchment between the rolling pin and dough might also make this easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I found the recipe quite easy and the cookies are very tasty. I would be inclined to add just a little honey to the dough to give it a little more sweetness. The only bad thing I have to say about the recipe is that I couldn't get the cookies to stay curled up together, they just came apart. Next time I will just do them into a thumb print cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
The Jam Kolaches were one of the easiest things I've ever made. The jam wrapper was really very flakey. I will definitely be making these again. Thank you Karen Wood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States