Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Okay. Dough was kindof bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Fantastic! I used Brummel & Brown (its what I had on hand). Even the ones that decided to not stay shut were excellent. Great & easy recipe. A nice way to use up all the leftover jams or tiny jars of jam that come in cheese & sausage gift packs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I made these and they were very well-received. Per other reviewers suggestions I chilled the dough before rolling and used solo raspberry filling instead of jam. After they were done, I sprinkled them with confectioners sugar to add a hint of sweetness and to dress them up a bit. The next time I make these I plan to add a hint of almond extract to the dough and to cut them into squares instead of circles as they squares would be a LOT easier to work with. My cookies looked far less than perfect, but I think that with more practice they could look very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These kolaches were disappointing. After reading the reviews that the kolaches didn't stay overlapped and most of the jam baked out, I figured I would just pinch the top of them and they would stay closed. I was wrong . . . again. Half the the kolaches spread open and weren’t the least bit attractive. Although I thought the flavor was good, I would look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Tasty and incredibly easy to make. Would have liked more flavor in the cookie. Maybe more cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
eatable, but mostly tasted like a biscuit with jelly, very small cookie and did not stay closed when baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
These were a big hit as part of our traditional Polish Christmas Eve dinner. We used homemade jam (we call it Autumn Harvest, made with pears and carrots) which definitely helped, but the crust itself was so light and flaky that it made a perfect light dessert after a heavy Polish meal. My only advice is don't skimp on the jam filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Tasted good but they didn't stay closed during baking. Way too ugly to share outside of immediate family. Maybe a larger cookie cutter than the recommended 2 inch circle would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This was a very easy recipe to make and the dough was easy to work with. I might double the recipe next time, because I needed more cookies than the recipe made. I would definitely make this again. I used strawberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Very easy recipe and very delicious! Make sure you overlap them tightly though or it will come apart at the middle. It won't look as pretty but still will taste great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States