Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
My husbands Czech grandma made him these as a kid. I surprised him for his bday with them. I have such a sweet tooth, I couldnt imagine no sugar in the dough. So I replaced about 1/4 cup of the flour with powdered sugar. Also a big pinch of salt to balance it all out. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I really like the simplicity of this recipe. As is, it is quite delicious. However, I did make a few changes to the dough to add a little more flavor. I doubled the recipe for starters(the amount of cookies this makes would last about 5 seconds in my house.) Then I added about 4 tbsps of sugar and grated zest of 1 lemon. I chilled the dough for an hour as other reviewers have suggested and after rolling I cut 2 1/2" squares. For the filling I used homemade black currant preserves. To solve the jam leaking problem; I mixed some tapioca flour into the preserves to thicken it. I also made a little dent with my fingers in the center of the square before putting on the jam. For the first batch I didn't use water to seal the corners closed so a lot of them opened. So for the second batch I did use the water and it seemed to work very well :). They turned out great! The lemon and black currant go really well together. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rrgdancer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Okay. Dough was kindof bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Fantastic! I used Brummel & Brown (its what I had on hand). Even the ones that decided to not stay shut were excellent. Great & easy recipe. A nice way to use up all the leftover jams or tiny jars of jam that come in cheese & sausage gift packs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I made these and they were very well-received. Per other reviewers suggestions I chilled the dough before rolling and used solo raspberry filling instead of jam. After they were done, I sprinkled them with confectioners sugar to add a hint of sweetness and to dress them up a bit. The next time I make these I plan to add a hint of almond extract to the dough and to cut them into squares instead of circles as they squares would be a LOT easier to work with. My cookies looked far less than perfect, but I think that with more practice they could look very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These kolaches were disappointing. After reading the reviews that the kolaches didn't stay overlapped and most of the jam baked out, I figured I would just pinch the top of them and they would stay closed. I was wrong . . . again. Half the the kolaches spread open and weren’t the least bit attractive. Although I thought the flavor was good, I would look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Tasty and incredibly easy to make. Would have liked more flavor in the cookie. Maybe more cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
eatable, but mostly tasted like a biscuit with jelly, very small cookie and did not stay closed when baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
These were a big hit as part of our traditional Polish Christmas Eve dinner. We used homemade jam (we call it Autumn Harvest, made with pears and carrots) which definitely helped, but the crust itself was so light and flaky that it made a perfect light dessert after a heavy Polish meal. My only advice is don't skimp on the jam filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Tasted good but they didn't stay closed during baking. Way too ugly to share outside of immediate family. Maybe a larger cookie cutter than the recommended 2 inch circle would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States