Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This was a recipe i had got from my grandmother and had made only once and never wrote it down. Very easy, delicious and traditional for Polish families. Thanks for posting this recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mdavis22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Very good recipe and easy. I refrigerated the dough overnight, used Solo filling and cut out the cookies with square cutters instead of round. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I thought the dough was very sticky to work with. The jams/jellies I used were probably not top quality, I read the reviews afterwards. Also, I agree with other reviewers that said they were not quite sweet enough. Thanks for letting me try a different kolache recipe! Also, I made round kolaches instead of the fold-over method. Tried to make a cream cheese filling but that was kind of redunant because the dough has cream cheese in it. Definitely needs a very sweet jelly or jam to off-set the lack of sugar in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Photo by JoJoWife
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I made those for Christmas and they came out great. I used Solo canned fruit jam to fill them so the jam doesn't bake or drip out. This is definitely the way to go. My sister added some sugar to the dough because she likes the dough a little sweeter but I keep it as is since the jam adds all the necesary sugar for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJoWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This recipe is similar to the one my grandmother made back in Chicago. It is very easy, but use lots of great quality jam. Don't skimp on this part, as there is no sugar in the dough, so to make these extra yummy, be generous with the jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by always4eeyore
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I have been looking for this recipe for years!!! My mom used to make these when I was real little. I love these cookies. She couldn't remember what recipe I was talking about and I could never find it in any of her cook books. I am so glad I found it! Now I can start making for my family!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always4eeyore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This is a family recipe for me as well so I have made literally thousands of these cookies over the years. A few comments/suggestions. First, they aren't the same as danishs so if that's what you are wanting then keep looking. Second, these really should only be made with butter. Margerine just isn't the same. Third, we always prepare the dough the night before and refrigerate it overnight. The dough needs to be cold and rolled as thin as possible. I think this will help with some of the complaints about the cookies not sealing well. Finally Solo filling really is the best. The consistancy is thicker and better suited for these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
My family loves them - I have to double the receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I love these cookies. I made them a few years ago from a cookbook of my mother's and then found the recipe on here. Very simple to make. I used blueberry preserves and they were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shach
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
easy to make once you get past you first dozen. cherry preserves worked best didn't run as much. the key to keep them from opening in rolling dough thin and using both hands to pinch. My family enjoys them alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States