Jam Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
These came out pretty good. They reminded me of a butter cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina72913

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Fantastic cookie! Extra powdered sugar helps.. cookie dough is also makes an incredible pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Needham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
delicious recipe, only problem I had was getting them to stay together at the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I was scared when I first tried the dough. It tasted like a really bad shortbread & I don't like shortbread. But after baking, these were delicious. made them for Christmas cookies. Have made them 3 times since in a week. very good. Also try with nut filling also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
My mom was from Czechoslovakia and this recipe is very similar to hers. We always filled them with a mixture of walnuts, melted butter and a small amount of sugar. Another difference is that we rolled them using powdered sugar instead of flour to keep them from sticking to the bakers mat. This last Christmas I experimented and used some dried cherries, apricots and plums in the center and they were terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
These kolaches are good but you really, really need to use Solo fillings and not jam. The jam runs out in the oven, collects around the edge of the kolach, hardens and doesn't look too pretty. 2" circles make really small ones, I used 2.5" and it was still too small. Will make these again and make them bigger. The dough has a nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swidgen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was a very easy recipe and it tasted great! I had some leftover cream cheese filling which I was using for another recipes which has a little sour cream, vanilla, lemon juice and sugar and I mixed that into the flour. I also used Solo pie filling instead of jam. The consistency of the dough was great and also worked very well as a pie shell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
The cookies were very nice and flakey. I added a splash of vanilla to the dough and used raspberry jam because that's all I had. Before baking I sprinkled on a little white sugar and they were the perfect sweetness. The only thing is that the jam did run all over the place. Thank goodness for parchment. I may try this recipe for thumbprints since the jam is sure to stay where it belongs and I really did enoy the dough. ETA: Thumbprints don't work but empanadas do! I use a round cookie cutter and then put a blob of jam in the middle. I folded it in half and used a fork all the way around to seal it. Roll it in sugar or cinnamon sugar depending on your jam flavour before baking. Cinnamon sugar tastes good with apricot jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Leaves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Very easy recipe. I used a can of Solo pie filling(cherry) and it never bubbled out. I also rolled the cookie in a sugar and cinnamon mix as someone else suggested when they come out of the oven. I doubled the recipe and got 3 doz. out of it. Next year I am making these for our cookie exchange and adding different fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I thought these were very good and very easy. Thank-you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States