Jam Filled Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I'd like to give this recipe 4 1/2 stars, since the only thing that keeps it from the 5 stars is that the actual cookie (excluding the jam) has a very bland taste, so I added 1/4 teaspoon of salt and 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract, made the cookies really great! I baked a batch yesterday, and it didn't last a day, so I baked another today. Also I used 1 whole egg instead of two yolks and used strawberry jam. Delicious, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
826 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Incredible!! here is a trick for getting the jam in the hole quickly and easily. Take sandwich bag and spoon the jam into the bottom of the bag. Massage slightly to get lumps out. Make a small snip in the bottom of the bag so you can squeeze out the jam into the holes in the dough. I used seedless blackberry jam..great choice!! I topped baked cookies with a coat of sifted powdered sugar. I'm going to always double this recipe. They are gone before they're cooled!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
468 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANINE PERKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clayton, California, USA
Photo by Laura Stoicescu
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This is an excellent recipe. After my cookies were done, (while still warm) I dipped them in powdered sugar for a different look and taste. They are VERY yummy this way! I uploaded a photo of them for those who would like to see what they look like this way. The powdered sugar melts into the jam, so it looks like there is powdered sugar only on the cookie part. Otherwise, I followed it by the recipe. Make sure not to overfill them with jam (this is what I did the first time,... and they overflowed onto the cookie sheet).Make the hole deep enough to actually hold some jam. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
353 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I am so glad to be the first to rate this recipe; I almost didn't try it because it wasn't rated yet and I needed a quick, fool-proof recipe. It was both, and I hope your ratings and reviews reflect it soon. This was super easy and fun for me and my seven year old to make together; of course she loved the thumbprints and filling them! The cookies do not taste like quick and easy ones though...they are soft and yummy. I hope to pass this down as a traditional cookie in my family. It did take the full 10 minutes to bake; 8 wasn't long enough, and they do not look done even then because they are a very light color...only the bottoms brown well. We used peach preserves...you could use any kind! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
These are such cute cookies! They are very easy to make, and taste yummy. I made a little indent in the cookies using the handle of a wooden spoon, and I just pressed it gently without making a deep hole, and the jam sat in the hole perfectly. I did notice that the jelly I used became really liquidy and runny, because they are made with juice instead of fruit, so next time I will use actual fruit jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
AWESOME! I had enough mix to make about 26 cookies. I found that 1/2 tsp of jam was a bit too much, as it overflowed over the cookie once baked. Also keep a close eye on the cookies while in the oven, they cook quickly, and while the tops still look uncooked the bottoms may be black:) They harden once they sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
These were wonderful and very tastey! They were so pretty with a dusting of powdered sugar. I only got 20 cookies out of my batch though, maybe they were a tad bit big but they looked just right. I also only ended up using 1/4 cup of jam since that's all that was needed. I plan to make some more today! To add the jam into the centers you chould put it into a zip lock baggie and cut the tip off of the corner of the bag. This makes the jam dispersion nice and neat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I can't believe how easy this recipe was. I followed it to a T and didn't change a thing. Some others explained that you'll need less flour. I did not. Nor was it crumbly when I rolled it into balls. It was a perfect texture. If I were to make a guess, I'd say they didn't let their butter sit out before they used it. I let mine out for about an hour before I made the cookie dough. Then I mixed it very well with the sugar. They will be a must on my list for Christmas cookies from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francine L.
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I made these last night and brought them in to work for taste testing - they are a big hit! I used seedless raspberry jam in some and apricot preserves in the others and they were both very good. I am definitely going to add these to my Christmas cookie trays. They're also very easy to make - just be sure to keep an eye on them because they brown quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
These were so good. Next time I think I will make them a bit smaller. I cant wait to make them again they were so yummy. Im also going to try and make them with Splenda for my diabetic hubby, so I ll let ya know how those come out. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Gracemont, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 793) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States