Jam Filled Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I am so glad to be the first to rate this recipe; I almost didn't try it because it wasn't rated yet and I needed a quick, fool-proof recipe. It was both, and I hope your ratings and reviews reflect it soon. This was super easy and fun for me and my seven year old to make together; of course she loved the thumbprints and filling them! The cookies do not taste like quick and easy ones though...they are soft and yummy. I hope to pass this down as a traditional cookie in my family. It did take the full 10 minutes to bake; 8 wasn't long enough, and they do not look done even then because they are a very light color...only the bottoms brown well. We used peach preserves...you could use any kind! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
These turned out great. I gave most of them away and people wanted to be taught how to make these. Nice and buttery and sweet. The recipe it makes 36, but I only got 24, but maybe I like my cookies big. I found that 375 was too hot, baking at 350 for 9 minutes on the top rack worked for me. But everyone's oven is different. I tried four flavors: strawberry, blackberry, apricot, and marmalade. They were all great. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
What a wonderful little cookie! I had enough dough to make four dozens. I used 1/2 cup butter, 1/4 cup margarine and added one teaspoon vanilla extract. I baked two trays each time, rotating half way through (total 15 minutes or so). I did not fill the holes before baking. Half way through, I indented the holes again. After the cookies were done, I filled them with store-bought chocolate frosting and topped that with chocolate sprinkles. This really is a buttery, cute little cookie! I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
The cookies are absolutely wonderful and so quick and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This is a great recipe--the cookies are delicious and my whole family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This recipe is wonderful! I almost didn't try it because I am a chocolate lover and I usually save my calories for chocolate-packed desserts, but these cookies are buttery-sweet and strawberry or blackberry preserves add a perfect finishing touch. They look lovely on a tray for tea-time or parties. I added a teaspoon of vanilla for an even sweeter-tasting cookie, and it was delicious! I will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
very good cookies - the first ones to go this Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
I just made these, and they are almost gone already! I used a Pampered Chef small scoop (like a small ice cream scoop)and that was the perfect size amount for the balls; I then used the small end of a mellon-baller to make the imprint...also a perfect size. A small lunch baggie filled with jam, tiny hole snipped in corner did great to fill the imprints with jam. Never got my hands messy and I did end up with 36 cookies! YUM!!! Easy and fast recipe! Thanks Missi! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA HUME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
Good cookies - I added a little almond extract to the cookie dough and that added to the flavor. The preserves kept running out of the cookies and burning on the cookie sheet. I'm not sure how I could have avoided that without making the cookies bigger. ETA: Made them again this year and followed other people's hints - used a sandwich bag to pipe the filling in and made the cookies a bit bigger. I got less cookies out of the deal, but they're much prettier. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
Delicious! I especially liked them with raspberry jam. Just perfect when the weather is cold but you want to be comforted and warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 795) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States