Jam Filled Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I thought they were a little plain, and sprinkled them with powdered sugar, and my 20 year old son thought they were out of this world! I enjoyed them with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
These cookies turned out awesome! I took advise from one of the reviewers and added 1/4 tsp salt and 1 tsp vanilla essence. I used rasberry and apricot preserves. These needed more than 10 min to bake. This is definitely a keeper and my favourite recipe for sugar butter cookies. Thanks for the recipe. I made about 38 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I gave this recipe a 5, it is delicious. I also put peanut butter in a couple just to try. Awesome, next batch, all peanut butter centers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I had made these cookies a long time ago, I had noted then that the bottoms cooked faster than the tops. I also noted to add a tsp of vanilla. I followed the recipe and added the tsp of vanilla, as some peoples review was that the cookie was bland. I also cooked them at a 350 temp rather than the 375, and just cooked them longer- 15 minutes, we like a well done cookie, however they weren't too well done but they were really good. I even added almonds to some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This recipe is so easy to make!! I am so happy with the result. However for the jam part, I used strawberry preservative. It was too sweet for me. For my second batch I tried Apple Jelly. It was the perfect tart and sweet cookie. Next time I will try something like raspberry or blackberry jam. I love the variety of jams I can choose with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Witch In The Kitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This is such a simple, adorable recipe. I like to shape the jam filled area into a heart for extra cute points. It doesn't take long to make and I love to have these with a coffe in the AM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Witch In The Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Nice and Easy cookie recipe. I used Splenda Blend and Simply Fruit to make them more diabetic friendly. I also had to add a dash of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Falls Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
What a grand little cookie! This recipe is a keeper. I followed the recipe exactly except I rolled the dough in granulated sugar (because that's how I love butter cookies). I made these for Valentines and instead of a thumbprint, I used my pinkie to make a heart shape in the center. I filled the center to just below the brim with jam and had no bubbling over issues. Side note: I did try the powdered sugar sprinkle and it did not melt into the cookie so since it wasn't pretty darn if I didn't have to eat it ;) I made 2 batches, one with 1/4 Tsp vanilla, one without. With vanilla it is sweeter like a sugar cookie, without the vanilla it has a more authentic butter cookie taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Berry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This is the easiest, quickest cookie I have ever made!! I have to admit though, I ended up sprinkling a bit of icing sugar on the tops as the dough wasn't quite as sweet as my kids like. I also added some chopped walnuts to the jam. Turned out great, all the ingredients were on hand which makes this recipe a five star in my eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrjcbk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
We've had the same recipe in our family for many years too, except ours calls for 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract. It came from my grandmother and, back in her day, recipes like this one were only made for the holidays because butter, sugar and jam were so expensive. She made her own jam, which made these cookies even better. We make two variations: 1) For added flavor and a bit of crunch, beat one of the leftover egg whites and dip the top half of the dough balls into it, then in finely chopped pecans. Proceed by making the indentation, filling with jam and baking like in the original recipe. 2) You can make elegant jam tartlets by using a mini muffin pan. Drop in enough dough to fill each muffin cup about halfway, then use a bottle cap or other similar instrument to make the depressions, pressing the dough up the sides. Be careful not to make the bottoms too thin. You want the dough to look like a crust. Remove any excess dough by scraping it away with a spatula, then fill and bake as in the original recipe. These will hold a little more jam and the dough will brown evenly on the sides and bottom. After the tart cookies are almost cooled, carefully turn them out onto a cookie sheet that's been covered with a thick, even layer of powdered sugar to coat the tops. I usually make a double recipe. I make enough tart cookies to fill one mini muffin tin and make the rest on a cookie sheet with the pecan topping. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 798) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States