Jam Filled Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made these cookies with my daughter and they didn't come out good at all. I was surprised by all of the reviews saying they came out great. Ours came out like flat pancakes. I used only the ingredients listed on this recipe. Going to look for another recipe and see how they come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
These were exactly what I was looking for, a delicate flavour, to showcase my homemade berry and pomegranate jam. I used margarine instead of butter (I can't believe it's not butter), and I added about 1 tsp vanilla, 1/8 tsp salt and a whole egg in place of the 2 yolks as suggested by another reviewer. I believe I will sprinkle these with icing sugar for decoration. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe and I think it's a shame that it gets so many low ratings. It looks like a lot of bakers are making simple mistakes that ruin what should be a wonderful cookie. BLAND COOKIES - You may have used the wrong butter. I know the recipe just says "butter", but unless a recipe specifies unsalted, assume it means salted. Beyond that, you need to understand that this is a butter cookie. It's not meant to be very overly sweet. For the best tasting cookie, use high quality butter and jam. The quality of your butter can make a big difference. FLAT COOKIES - Your dough is too warm. Chill for half an hour to an hour before baking. The other possibility here is that you've used margarine. Margarine is not butter. DRY CRUMBLY COOKIE - You've probably overworked the dough. This can happen if your butter is too cold when you begin. BROKEN COOKIES, LEAKING JAM - You're making the wells too deep or overfilling them. Try using the back of a half teaspoon to make the indentations and fill with a bit less jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I live in a dry area and so the batter was a little dry but I added a about 2 teaspoons of milk and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by red

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I love it, my mom called them thumb print cookies my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Mabe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
My 6 year old daughter and I made these together. We added 2 tsps of vanilla and used the ziploc bag method for the jam like other reviewers suggested. Very sweet! We had never tried cookies with strawberry jam before but we loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
i added a tiny tap of salt and about a tsp of vanilla, and made it with strawberry preservatives, it tasted like strawberry buscuits, i was kinda hoping for that cookie taste..... slightly disappointing! but everyone loves them. that recipe made 29 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I did what the first comment said to do, and it was great! I used raspberry jam. I loved it, going to make these cookies again!! ^_^ They are a perfect light snack, with a cup of warm tea/coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I made some changes to this but it came out outstanding! Here are my changes: Added about 1/2tsp baking powder, 1 tsp almond extract and 1 tsp vanilla. Also a pinch of salt. added 4 egg yolks instead of 2. I thought I was doubling but didn't double the rest of the ingredients. lol oops :p But they came out awesome so it worked out. I used raspberry jam in half and apricot in the other and sprinkled them with powdered sugar while they were hot out of the oven. Baked for 8 minutes and they were perfect. I did use a 1 inch cookie scoop and press the middle with a round measuring spoon to get a really uniform shaped cookie. Everyone loved them, they are buttery and melt in your mouth yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Make these every year for Xmas. My husband is originally from England where he says they're called jammy dodgers. I like to use apricot jam bc of the tartness, but strawberry & raspberry works too. I've even tried it with orange marmalade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 815) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States