Jam Filled Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This was a great recipe! I added pure vanilla extract and used a baby spoon to fill the cookie holes. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
These cookies are great. I live at 5,200ft and they still came out perfect. I just had to adjust the baking time. 5-6 minutes longer than reccomended. After reading the reviews I too added some vanilla extract. The dough is so soft and fun to work with. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This recipe one the best cookie vote at the office holiday cookie exchange. Delicious and sure to be a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSALIEK1
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
1 tsp vanilla and 1/2 egg since I use unsalted butter added salt. Filled with a 'blubbery cake and pastry filling'. Needs more vanilla or the extra 1/2 egg poss too much? I enjoyed the recipe thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made these cookies with my daughter and they didn't come out good at all. I was surprised by all of the reviews saying they came out great. Ours came out like flat pancakes. I used only the ingredients listed on this recipe. Going to look for another recipe and see how they come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
These were exactly what I was looking for, a delicate flavour, to showcase my homemade berry and pomegranate jam. I used margarine instead of butter (I can't believe it's not butter), and I added about 1 tsp vanilla, 1/8 tsp salt and a whole egg in place of the 2 yolks as suggested by another reviewer. I believe I will sprinkle these with icing sugar for decoration. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe and I think it's a shame that it gets so many low ratings. It looks like a lot of bakers are making simple mistakes that ruin what should be a wonderful cookie. BLAND COOKIES - You may have used the wrong butter. I know the recipe just says "butter", but unless a recipe specifies unsalted, assume it means salted. Beyond that, you need to understand that this is a butter cookie. It's not meant to be very overly sweet. For the best tasting cookie, use high quality butter and jam. The quality of your butter can make a big difference. FLAT COOKIES - Your dough is too warm. Chill for half an hour to an hour before baking. The other possibility here is that you've used margarine. Margarine is not butter. DRY CRUMBLY COOKIE - You've probably overworked the dough. This can happen if your butter is too cold when you begin. BROKEN COOKIES, LEAKING JAM - You're making the wells too deep or overfilling them. Try using the back of a half teaspoon to make the indentations and fill with a bit less jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I live in a dry area and so the batter was a little dry but I added a about 2 teaspoons of milk and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by red

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I love it, my mom called them thumb print cookies my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Mabe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
My 6 year old daughter and I made these together. We added 2 tsps of vanilla and used the ziploc bag method for the jam like other reviewers suggested. Very sweet! We had never tried cookies with strawberry jam before but we loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 809) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States