Jam Filled Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I love jam cookies and these were no disappointment. I followed the tip of another reviewer and added 2 tsp of vanilla extract and 1/4 tsp of salt to the dough--I could tell by the original recipe that this dough might be bland. These cookies are quick and easy to make and ideal for those with young children, because who doesn't like to poke holes in dough? Also, the few ingredients are items most people already have on hand; these aren't expensive. The 1/2 tsp of jam seems like so little, but actually it is just right. I rolled the dough into balls about 1-1/4-inch in diameter. They baked perfectly in 12 minutes. My family loved these. However, I plan to make one change in the future: As a matter of personal taste, I find the dough almost too eggy. I doubled the recipe; therefore I used 4 yolks--next time I'll try 3. I plan to make these often, always doubling the recipe and freezing 1/2 of the dough for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
AWESOME, buttery goodness!! So good my husband and I could have eaten the whole batch! Doubled the recipe and made 36 medium sized cookies. Added the salt and vanilla which is a must imo. Made 12 apricot, 12 seedless raspberry and 12 blueberry. These did have to cook about 15 minutes but that could be my oven. I used a 1/4 tsp round measuring spoon to make the indent. I kept a careful watch and checked every 5 minutes and also switched the sheets around half way through. When they are done they will be pale on the top and lightly browned on the bottom. Make these and you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I make these on occasion, and they always go over well. A couple of tips: Make sure you buy a seedless jam. Seeds in the middle of your cookies are unappealing. All Fruit seedless preserves work well. Second, if you have a spherical measuring spoon without a lip, these work perfectly both for making an impression in the cookies and for getting the jam into the center neatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaMK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Zionsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Easy and what we were looking for! Thanks, did add salt and vanilla as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
It needs something to spice it up bring it to life. Anything sweet and tasy! Jam portion is out I used my measuring scoop to make finger holes and used only 1/8 to 1/2 of jam to fill. Only made 24 cookies. Only reason I'm giving 3stars is because my husband said their good with the jam and cooked perfect and yes bland but like a shortbread cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
My husband's grandmother made these cookies every Christmas. She had the recipe from Southern living. I have looked for it many years after it was lost. So excited to see this. She always did half w jam and half of them w a pecan on top. Thanks for helping me bring back a family tradition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Made these today and they are going to be a part of my life forever! :-) Loved them. I took the advice of one of the reviewers and added 1/4 tsp salt and 2 tsp. vanilla. I used 1/3 tsp of seedless Strawberry Jam in each cookie. This recipe only yielded 24 cookies for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Very simple and easy recipe to whip up quickly. I tried mine with various fruit extracts, which I recomend. I also rolled my dough in sugar before adding the jam and baking for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
These are really good. Made them with apricot preserves and my family demolished them. I added salt and vanilla and the cookies were blissfully good. Didn't get but about 20 cookies though. Definitely double the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Nell Gordon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
dough has little flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pierre Robillard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 820) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States