Jam Filled Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I just took the cookies out of the oven, and I cannot stop eating them. I used the plunger from a large baby syringe to make the indentations. I added a pinch of salt , plus vanilla and almond extract. They were quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Cheneille Wilson
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
The only thing I added to the recipe was a tablespoon of vanilla extract. I used Dickinson purely fruit strawberry and apricot. They came out very nice. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheneille Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Loved it because it was a sweet and buttery shortbread type cookies with yummy strawberry jam. i used whipped butter and it still tasted great. the egg whites i'll use for something else. the dough was too soft tho so i rolled it up and put it in the freezer for 15 min. maybe try with salt and vanilla next time? make sure it is completely cooled before moving it off the pan/tray. jam slides off easily and makes a mess. also, don't eat hot 375 degree dough, especially if it smells good: once you start, you can't stop. both burns and cookies and are good with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Zhou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Super easy. Not too sweet. Just enough sweetness with the jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoyS
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Just tried this recipe last Friday for my kids' playtime with friends. The instruction is so easy. I just added a little bit of salt, and the result was fantastic. My first new recipe for the year came out to be a success. Me and my son made some more for today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyS

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Really delicious and not crumbly, but the jam is boiling hot so let cookies cool. I added a tiny bit of salt, vanilla and almond oil to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I love jam cookies and these were no disappointment. I followed the tip of another reviewer and added 2 tsp of vanilla extract and 1/4 tsp of salt to the dough--I could tell by the original recipe that this dough might be bland. These cookies are quick and easy to make and ideal for those with young children, because who doesn't like to poke holes in dough? Also, the few ingredients are items most people already have on hand; these aren't expensive. The 1/2 tsp of jam seems like so little, but actually it is just right. I rolled the dough into balls about 1-1/4-inch in diameter. They baked perfectly in 12 minutes. My family loved these. However, I plan to make one change in the future: As a matter of personal taste, I find the dough almost too eggy. I doubled the recipe; therefore I used 4 yolks--next time I'll try 3. I plan to make these often, always doubling the recipe and freezing 1/2 of the dough for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
AWESOME, buttery goodness!! So good my husband and I could have eaten the whole batch! Doubled the recipe and made 36 medium sized cookies. Added the salt and vanilla which is a must imo. Made 12 apricot, 12 seedless raspberry and 12 blueberry. These did have to cook about 15 minutes but that could be my oven. I used a 1/4 tsp round measuring spoon to make the indent. I kept a careful watch and checked every 5 minutes and also switched the sheets around half way through. When they are done they will be pale on the top and lightly browned on the bottom. Make these and you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I make these on occasion, and they always go over well. A couple of tips: Make sure you buy a seedless jam. Seeds in the middle of your cookies are unappealing. All Fruit seedless preserves work well. Second, if you have a spherical measuring spoon without a lip, these work perfectly both for making an impression in the cookies and for getting the jam into the center neatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaMK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Zionsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Easy and what we were looking for! Thanks, did add salt and vanilla as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 816) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States