Jam Filled Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Nice and Easy cookie recipe. I used Splenda Blend and Simply Fruit to make them more diabetic friendly. I also had to add a dash of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Falls Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
What a grand little cookie! This recipe is a keeper. I followed the recipe exactly except I rolled the dough in granulated sugar (because that's how I love butter cookies). I made these for Valentines and instead of a thumbprint, I used my pinkie to make a heart shape in the center. I filled the center to just below the brim with jam and had no bubbling over issues. Side note: I did try the powdered sugar sprinkle and it did not melt into the cookie so since it wasn't pretty darn if I didn't have to eat it ;) I made 2 batches, one with 1/4 Tsp vanilla, one without. With vanilla it is sweeter like a sugar cookie, without the vanilla it has a more authentic butter cookie taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Berry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This is the easiest, quickest cookie I have ever made!! I have to admit though, I ended up sprinkling a bit of icing sugar on the tops as the dough wasn't quite as sweet as my kids like. I also added some chopped walnuts to the jam. Turned out great, all the ingredients were on hand which makes this recipe a five star in my eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrjcbk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
We've had the same recipe in our family for many years too, except ours calls for 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract. It came from my grandmother and, back in her day, recipes like this one were only made for the holidays because butter, sugar and jam were so expensive. She made her own jam, which made these cookies even better. We make two variations: 1) For added flavor and a bit of crunch, beat one of the leftover egg whites and dip the top half of the dough balls into it, then in finely chopped pecans. Proceed by making the indentation, filling with jam and baking like in the original recipe. 2) You can make elegant jam tartlets by using a mini muffin pan. Drop in enough dough to fill each muffin cup about halfway, then use a bottle cap or other similar instrument to make the depressions, pressing the dough up the sides. Be careful not to make the bottoms too thin. You want the dough to look like a crust. Remove any excess dough by scraping it away with a spatula, then fill and bake as in the original recipe. These will hold a little more jam and the dough will brown evenly on the sides and bottom. After the tart cookies are almost cooled, carefully turn them out onto a cookie sheet that's been covered with a thick, even layer of powdered sugar to coat the tops. I usually make a double recipe. I make enough tart cookies to fill one mini muffin tin and make the rest on a cookie sheet with the pecan topping. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I did not have much luck with these. In the middle of baking them, the sides cracked and the jam ran out of the centers. I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
These were great!! Easy to make, and delicious. Will make again for sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
These were delicious. I can eat up a whole tray. I added vanilla to the recipe. I like the smell of vanilla when baking. The only mistake I made was making the cookies to large. Other than that it was an excellent cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN CAN COOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Easy, delicious, and fun to experiment with different fillings/ toppings! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I added a 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract as per the "Most Helpful Critical Review" suggestion. I looked at other recipes that were similar to this and most of them were calling for almond or vanilla extract. I went with almond extract figuring that it would work well with raspberry, apricot, or strawberry jam. The cookies are delicious! I only had one volcano cookie where the jam broke loose from its cookie containment. A friend of mine just suggested lemon extract to go with the raspberry but I'll only try that if I can find pure lemon extract. There is nothing worse than that fake lemon taste. I'd also cut it down to 1/4 teaspoon or even less since lemon tends to be a stronger flavor. Either way, these are quite delish! I suppose you could even put lemon curd in the center instead of jam. Endless possibility! I used the rounded handle end of my spatula to make the indent for the jam and piped in the jam with a sandwich bag with the end cut off. The leftover jam was easily taken care of by simply squeezing it back into the jar. I'm also considering drizzling chocolate over the tops for a chocolate raspberry cookie or for an orange marmalade dark chocolate drizzled cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is my second Christmas making these cookies. Of the 7 types of cookies I make each year these get the best reviews! My friends and family love them! I use 3 types of preserves- peach, strawberry and blackberry. I dust with powdered sugar at the end, too, like another reviewer suggested. These are great and easy to make and stay fresh for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Lovett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 812) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States