Jam Filled Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These were great! Quick and easy. I adapted this to be sugar free by subbing Splenda for sugar and Sugar-free preserves for regular. Worked perfectly :-) I did add some vanilla and lemon juice to the dough as Splenda tends to make the dough drier. Cooked for about 14 minutes because when I tested one of the larger cookies it was still a big doughy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rkhyclak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I gave it 4 stars because it is a quick and easy recipe, but BLAND as can be! I made it as is the first time around and truly had to throw it out. It was bland beyond reason. The 2nd time I made it I added salt and vanilla and the result was very good. Even better was when I added slivered almonds and a small pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg (not enough to overtake the cookie, but just enough to subtly flavor the cookie and make you go hmmm...) While I prefer a bit more flavor, this is a great basic shortbread cookie recipe. Seeing that I have made it 10 times in the last 4 months, it will stay in my recipe box (but with salt and vanilla added). :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by khitam
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Very yummy cockies , but since I dont care for Jam alot i used almond chocolate Hershy bar :)i used vanilla as many reviewers suggested, so if you eat the whole cockie in one bite you get vanilla and almond and chocolate all at once ...really nice. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khitam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly, and I couldn't get the cookies to stay together. As soon as I tried to make a hole for the jam they immediately crumbled and fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
After browsing through several recipes, I chose this one and glad that I did. I followed the recipe, as written, and used blackberry preserves. Very good cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMLIZARD
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I am liking this recipe! Made them with my cookie press, and a flower die, just added a little more flour to stiffen the dough, worked great. I did follow someone else's suggestion and added 2 tsp vanilla and a pinch of salt. Made red rasp, now am going to make a batch with black rasp and one with home made peach jam..... Mmmmm!! :) Thanks for the good recipe~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMLIZARD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Nice texture but very bland, even after I added vanilla and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Very easy to make. Putting jam into a sandwich bag is a great idea. Has anyone tried adding baking soda to the recipe as I find the cookies too hard when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I love these cookies! I took other reviewers' advice and added a little salt, vanilla extract and almond extract to give the dough more flavor. They are SO easy to make and taste great with many flavors of jam--my favorites are raspberry and blackberry. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
My 1st attempt making cookies n this was it! Easy, nice n tasty. My son was so enjoyed filling d jam. I'm not sure if these cookies are suppose to be bit hard, but it taste yummy. I followed exactly what the recipe asked for, but for sugar I cut into 1/4 cup and also add 2 tsp vanilla extract n pinch of salt as mentioned in one of the reviews, it was good. Will make again but DOUBLE...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States