Jalapenos del Raton Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RoyBCookin
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I made these a day ahead for a pot luck at work and they disappeared quickly. To be honest, they were better fresh off the grill, but were still quite tasty warmed up the next day. I browned hot Italian sausage and mixed it with reduced-fat cream cheese, adding garlic and onion powder to taste. Turkey bacon works well with these. Not as spicy as you might expect. These are great but I will experiment with lighter alternative ingredients, such as chicken or sautéed onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
I made these again for a cookout the other night and got so many compliments and requests for the recipe. I have made them many times, with turkey sausage and pork sausage and they are always great. Spiciness varies with jalapenos - sometimes they are hot and sometimes not. I have always grilled, not baked in the oven, and to do that it is important to use turkey bacon. Regular bacon drips and causes huge flare-ups! Trust me, I've tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Uniontown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I mixed the sausage with the cream cheese and stuffed 1/2 the jalepano and wrapped that 1/2 in regular bacon and put it in the oven til the bacon crisped and the cream cheese just started to ooze a bit. they are easier to eat than the whole pepper at once. My husband loves them and his coworkers want them for the next carry-in dinner. I also microwaved the pepper halves for 2-3 minutes before I stuffed them to ensure they were tender enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I made a slight variation. I cooked the sausage and pre-mixed it with the cream cheese. Stuffed halfed jalapenos and wrapped each half with 1/2 slice bacon. Put on cookie sheet and baked. I made them for a party and the halves were easier to handle. They were GONE in no time. Even people who don't like "spicy" food loved them. Drain well on paper towels. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
very good and not at all as "hot" as I thought they would be- everyone loved them- next time I'll try broiling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Great! I tried 1/2 turkey bacon and 1/2 center cut "real" bacon (the kind that has as much fat as many turkey bacon strips), and the center cut bacon was better. I also used reduced fat cream cheese and hot turkey italian sausage and cooked in the oven at 375 for 35 minutes. Really, really, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taertman2516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I make them using onion-chive cream cheese with a good handful of shredded cheddar and a tablespoon or a bit more of barbecue rub mixed in as the stuffing. I use my "jerky shooter" to stuff them, makes it easy. Smoke them with hickory at 250°F for a couple hours, until the bacon is done. A lot of the heat is removed from the jalapenos. Any left over stuffing eats fine on Ritz crackers. These and a cold beer work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peculiarmike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Peculiar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I too, cooked the sausage, using Italian sweet sausage, which is what I had on hand, and mixed it with the cream cheese. I filled halves, and wrapped regular bacon around them. I put them on a rack, then baked them. I think they are excellent. I did find that the thinnest sliced bacon worked the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This is wonderful as I have made it for years, but I use Hot Italian sausage and it is very tasty...Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin4fun
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
These were very good and I did mix the cream cheese and sausage before stuffing and wrapped the halved jalapenos with regular bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

All about Jalapenos

Meet the pepper that brings the heat to so many delicious dishes.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Stuffed Jalapeño Firecrackers

What's cooking in Fort Worth? Delicious stuffed-jalapeño poppers, of course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States