Jalapenos del Raton Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
I made these again for a cookout the other night and got so many compliments and requests for the recipe. I have made them many times, with turkey sausage and pork sausage and they are always great. Spiciness varies with jalapenos - sometimes they are hot and sometimes not. I have always grilled, not baked in the oven, and to do that it is important to use turkey bacon. Regular bacon drips and causes huge flare-ups! Trust me, I've tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Uniontown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
very good and not at all as "hot" as I thought they would be- everyone loved them- next time I'll try broiling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I made a slight variation. I cooked the sausage and pre-mixed it with the cream cheese. Stuffed halfed jalapenos and wrapped each half with 1/2 slice bacon. Put on cookie sheet and baked. I made them for a party and the halves were easier to handle. They were GONE in no time. Even people who don't like "spicy" food loved them. Drain well on paper towels. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
A bit dissapointing and I think it had to do with using the turkey bacon. I had never tried "turkey bacon" before and was not aware it tastes nothing like real bacon. Not at all spicy. May try using smaller jalapenos for a little more kick, or including some of the seeds in the cream cheese. Will try one more time with pork bacon to see if it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I have a favorite jalepeno recipe and decided to give this one a try, not bad but pretty high cal. Try stuffing pepper with chicken & bacon wrap then grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraleewanab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Great! I tried 1/2 turkey bacon and 1/2 center cut "real" bacon (the kind that has as much fat as many turkey bacon strips), and the center cut bacon was better. I also used reduced fat cream cheese and hot turkey italian sausage and cooked in the oven at 375 for 35 minutes. Really, really, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taertman2516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I have done a variation of this recipe for years and find if I microwave the halved peppers for 60-90 seconds after I remove the seeds that their is no issue on them being done on the grill. If I'm in a hurry I add smoked seasoning to the cream cheese and crumbled bacon and forgoe 'wrapping' them in bacon. That way they're done in a jiffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This is wonderful as I have made it for years, but I use Hot Italian sausage and it is very tasty...Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Very good - made exactly as the recipe stated. Too hot for my mouth so I soaked the halved jalapenos in milk for about 5 minutes to take some of the heat out of the peppers before stuffing wrapping and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NUTFISH1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RoyBCookin
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I made these a day ahead for a pot luck at work and they disappeared quickly. To be honest, they were better fresh off the grill, but were still quite tasty warmed up the next day. I browned hot Italian sausage and mixed it with reduced-fat cream cheese, adding garlic and onion powder to taste. Turkey bacon works well with these. Not as spicy as you might expect. These are great but I will experiment with lighter alternative ingredients, such as chicken or sautéed onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Jalapenos

Meet the pepper that brings the heat to so many delicious dishes.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Stuffed Jalapeño Firecrackers

What's cooking in Fort Worth? Delicious stuffed-jalapeño poppers, of course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States