Jalapenos del Raton Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by STACII24
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
WOW! I took these to a family BBQ and every adult chowed down on them. They were perfect while we were relaxing and playing cards. We couldn't get enough. They were a bit time consuming but well worth it. I can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACII24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mariposa, California, USA
Living In: New Athens, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This was a nice change from the regular poppers we always make. My husband went crazy over the sausage. Just a little greasy for me though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was outstanding. I used regular bacon, mixed the cream cheese and chorizo, and 1/2 jalapenos. I baked them on a broiler pan for 25-30 min and they turned out great. The bigger peppers were better as the bacon tended to overwhelm the smaller ones. Would be a great appetizer at a party or a gameday snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smbeatse
Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This recipe was amazing!!! I combined the cream cheese with the sausage and added a tablespoon of sugar. I took the dish to a potluck and there was nothing left to bring home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
These were tasty but take so long to prepare! I wouldn't make again but solely for that reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I too, cooked the sausage, using Italian sweet sausage, which is what I had on hand, and mixed it with the cream cheese. I filled halves, and wrapped regular bacon around them. I put them on a rack, then baked them. I think they are excellent. I did find that the thinnest sliced bacon worked the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin4fun
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
These were very good and I did mix the cream cheese and sausage before stuffing and wrapped the halved jalapenos with regular bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I make them using onion-chive cream cheese with a good handful of shredded cheddar and a tablespoon or a bit more of barbecue rub mixed in as the stuffing. I use my "jerky shooter" to stuff them, makes it easy. Smoke them with hickory at 250°F for a couple hours, until the bacon is done. A lot of the heat is removed from the jalapenos. Any left over stuffing eats fine on Ritz crackers. These and a cold beer work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peculiarmike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Peculiar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I mixed the sausage with the cream cheese and stuffed 1/2 the jalepano and wrapped that 1/2 in regular bacon and put it in the oven til the bacon crisped and the cream cheese just started to ooze a bit. they are easier to eat than the whole pepper at once. My husband loves them and his coworkers want them for the next carry-in dinner. I also microwaved the pepper halves for 2-3 minutes before I stuffed them to ensure they were tender enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RoyBCookin
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I made these a day ahead for a pot luck at work and they disappeared quickly. To be honest, they were better fresh off the grill, but were still quite tasty warmed up the next day. I browned hot Italian sausage and mixed it with reduced-fat cream cheese, adding garlic and onion powder to taste. Turkey bacon works well with these. Not as spicy as you might expect. These are great but I will experiment with lighter alternative ingredients, such as chicken or sautéed onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Jalapenos

Meet the pepper that brings the heat to so many delicious dishes.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States