Jalapeno Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This will be the second year that I have made this recipe exactly as detailed. I did double it this year so that I would have enough to give as gifts. I used about 3/4 of the seeds. Even my father who hates hotly spiced food will eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by 01buckler15
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I gave 4 stars because the original recipe wasn't hot enough for me or my family. I used this as the basis for my jam though. The second time around I chose jalapeño peppers that looked like they would be hotter(and they were) and chopped the tops off and pureed the rest, seeds and all. To get hotter peppers find ones that have what looks like stretch marks on them.(milder peppers are smooth and lighter colored) I cut the sugar in this recipe in half to allow some of the heat from the peppers to stick around. (The sugar tones them down a lot) The last change I made was that I used the Ball pectin that comes in a jar to measure out by tbsp. I like to use low to no sugar added pectin in my jams because I always add a lot less sugar than recipes generally call for. I use almost a tbsp for each cup of strawberries. This time around it came out just like I was hoping for. I think my sister and my aunt will love it! Oh, also I puree my strawberries instead of just mashing them. Which is also why I add more pectin to help it set better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 01buckler15

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
my first time making jam and I made a few mistakes (added sugar at same time as rest of ingredients to cook, didnt cook long enough, and forgot to bubble the jars). First try it didnt set, so after 24 hours I re-processed but added too much pectin and it turned out gummy. It was still delicious however and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Hope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Delicious! I find you can adjust the sugar to 6 cups if you prefer a little less sweet. I would recommend more Jalapeño's or adding 1 Habanero pepper for extra spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skinny State of Mind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This is very good jam. Jalapenos have all different levels of heat and mine were hot. I only seeded one and the jam is pretty hot but we like it that way. Thanks for sharing. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
First time jam maker... It was so easy, just sweet enough with a mild pepper after taste. I plan on putting this together with scone mix for a cute Xmas gift for friends. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is really good. I made a batch less than a week ago and it is gone. Just a note, but one major brand of pectin is 2 oz and the other is less. No problem with setting with the 2 oz package : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I made a quart a quart jar to be auctioned off at a charity. It went for fifty dollars! It is that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: Ocean Shores, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This is great...I added the jalapenos with the seeds...I added two oranges also and their jest and 1/4 cup of orange liquer. I also added 1 and 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Fabulous results...Only hard thing was waiting the twenty-four hours to taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evonnecpa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Loved it! Made recipe with frozen strawberries (measured 4 cups thawed and mashed) and due to the store not having any fresh jalapeños, I used jarred. Also, per others suggestion, I reduced the sugar to 6 cups. I tasted before I jarring and decided I wanted a bit more heat (the jarred peppers are so much milder), so I added a little cayenne powder. I got 7 half pint jars (prob would have gotten more, but I kept tasting!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States