Jalapeno Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Elizabeth Natalie Rosenbaum
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I love this! I used the recipe amounts to a T but I used 10 small jalapeños and two huge tomatoes. I also used a large onion. I tossed the onion quarters, peppers and tomatoes in sea salt and a little oil....then put all them on my broiler pan and I let the jalapeños get nearly black. I seeded them all as well. I ended up adding a small tomato at the end. I used 1/2 a tbs of cilantro, 1 tbs of salt and 1/3 of a tbs of pepper. it turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
It tastes amazing, but is extremely hot! I still loved it, so not going to knock stars for the surprise. I definitely plan on making it more in the future, but will probably de-seed all but two of the jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vanessie25
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
It was great very hot! I used a variety of peppers. Hubby insisted on more lemon so it came out kind of tangy, next time I'll use less! Fast & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
How long does this salsa keep? I have a glut of jalapenos and I'm looking for new recipes that will keep us going for the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Atherton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This is delicious. Easy recipe and so fresh. I don't know how long it will keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nick O
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This recipe is great, I took ellie may's recommendation and grilled the peppers, tomatoes and garlic on the barbeque before blending all the ingredients. I also used 2x garlic but a bit less onion (wife can't handle too much) and less cilantro as well. I am very happy with how it turned out, but it is VERY hot! I mix in a bit of sour cream to cut the heat a bit, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick O

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
HOT!!! And love it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raytnla
Home Town: Euless, Texas, USA
Living In: Gonzales, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I loved this salsa, my family loved this salsa. I did add to the recipe a bit. I added more jalapenos, I added a few tabasco peppers and a few green chile's. Being from NM, we like it mega hot! Plus I had an abundance of all three of the above peppers and needed something to do with them!! I also doubled the garlic. I used dry cilantro and used only 1 and a half tsps. This recipe was very yummy, however, I think next time I will use a bit less onion and see how it tastes. I also think that the next time I make it, I will process it so I can make more and keep it for a longer period of time. Very, very easy recipe to make, thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Great recipe! You could swear it was made with tomatillos. As others have mentioned, the heat is moderately hot. Since my wife has a much lower heat tolerance than I, I made a separate batch, substituting 3 Anaheim peppers for the 12 jalapenos; she also thought it delicious. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepairedHam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I modified this recipe a bit. I use 12 jalapenos, 6 tomatillos, 1 onion, 1 bulb of garlic, juice from 4 limes, 1 tbls olive oil, a healthy amount of cilantro (never measure it, I just put in tons!) a bit of garlic salt, about a tbls of white vinegar. blend everything in a food processor then simmer it on the stove for about a half an hour and jar it up. I get 3 regular mason jars out of it and use it on taco salad. Thanks for the great recipe! I go through a batch in about 2 weeks and am now adding a ghost pepper to the mix to give it more heat and that nice smokey flavor from the jolokia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States