Jalapeno Poppers of Champions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I've been making these for years with real bacon and if it resembles bacon, tastes like bacon it has to be GOOD. Peppers are not too hot either after they cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
If you wanna use real bacon, but you're looking for a slightly healthier version than normal poppers, check this out: We make these ALL the time in our house, but rather than wrapping the halves, we lay 1/3 piece of thick-cut bacon on top of each cream-cheese-filled half (bonus - no toothpicks needed!!!). Then we cook them at 425 degrees for 48-55 minutes (we make a HUGE tray of them at a time - cook less time if you don't use the thick bacon). Line the pan with foil to make clean much less hellish, of course. These are to DIE for, and the 1/3 bacon still gives you all the flavor and crunchy/chewiness of the bacon with a few less heart attacks (use light cream cheese to keep away more angina). We'll continue to make these over and over and over again... EXTRA NOTE: Leftover poppers folded into an omelet or cut up into scrambles eggs the next morning are something you wish you could eat every single day, I promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
These were delicious! I followed one reviewer's recommendation and soaked the tooth picks before baking, which helped. They were very flavorful. I will be making these again and next time I am going to try them on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
These were a big hit with the family...I for some reason wasn't entirely crazy about them...i thought it was too much bacon....I'm sure it was just me considering how EVERYONE else loved them...but i felt a little sick after eating a bunch...PS smaller jalapenos are more spicey than the larger ones so consider that when you buy the peppers =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Kind of time consuming to make, but any time we have a potluck/get together, these are always requested... and the first thing to get gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Soooo, good. I did add garlic salt, parsley flakes & just laid the bacon to cover the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille Sweeney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This recipe as is is kind of plain typical jalapeno popper. I used real bacon and doctored my cream cheese quite a bit. I added a packet of dry ranch and some shredded cheese(the thin kind in the bag). This is a great starting place and anything with bacon is awesome but if you want it to stand out you very much need to add something to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zerostar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Great recipe, BUT if you don't wear gloves and get the hot capsasin on your skin it will burn. The antidote to the burn isn't washing with water but with a dairy product like MILK. It is the only thing that will stop the burning. And it does work. I found this out from personal experience after I found washing with soap and water made almost no impact. Remember soak in MILK and it will wash the burning out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
these are very good, but I prefer regular bacon, and only wrap each half with 1/3 strip of bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Grodesky Zabek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Turned out awesome thanks to this recipe! My friends loved it and I'll definitely be making more of this appetizer next time I invite guests over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States