Jalapeno Poppers II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This is a great popper recipe! I substituted panko bread crumbs, and cut out the veins inside the pepper to decrease the spiciness of the recipe. I serve with Trader Joes Sweet Chili Sauce. Yum Yum! To increase the spiciness of this recipe, simply mix the seeds from the peppers into the cream cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAILORMOON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I followed this recipe to a "T" and they turned out super duper spicy. So hot in fact that my husband had to put them in the fridge over night and ate them the next day because they burned his mouth so bad. I suggest if you do not go for the extraordinarily spicy then do not broil the jalapenos before stuffing them with the cream cheese. Might be unbearable for some. Other than that, my husband thought they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Falycia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Cream cheese stuffing isn't super flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Just a tip for those handling peppers. All you have to do (so you don't have to worry about gloves or baggies on your hands) is coat your hands in olive oil. If your hands end up burning rub them in milk, not a milk based product..MILK. It takes the burn away immediately, and even works on the lips (sometimes it burns there too after eating a hot pepper). My Grandma used the oil method and passed it along to me, and also the rubbing of the milk. IT WORKS TRUST ME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantallywallywoohoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA
Living In: Randleman, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
very good, i varied the recipe alittle, but will definately try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
My Husband & I are starting a small restaurant and I am testing recipes. This will be on our menu! I had several friends as testers and they gave it rave reviews. The best crust I've ever had. Much better than what you normally get in a restaurant, which is prepacked & frozen. I left the stems on the peppers. It makes a nice presentation & easier to pickup. Make sure you blanche the peppers until they start to get soft. If not, you have crunch, raw peppers. Thanks for the sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Gonna try this one this weekend. I did a bit of prep today. Heres a tip.. cut off the stem and use a potato peeler to scoop out the membrane and seeds. it worked for me quite well. then just put the cream cheese into a sandwhich bag, snip off the corner and pipe the cheese into the opening. Less mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Absolutely delicious! But more work than I want to go through again in the very near future. It's August, the Jalapenos are in abundance so I grabbed a mess of them from the garden with good intentions and WOW did I set myself up for disaster. Two days later I had them all finished and ready for the freezer. They are a delight to the taste buds, but if you do a huge batch for freezing like I did, be sure you have a stool to sit on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7SlotFever

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Scotts Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I don't know if it was me or the recipe, but this was not the best or easiest recipe ever. It sounded simple enough when I started, but I have to agree with other members about when trying to make these with gloves or something else on your hands, it's not exactly very easy. My kitchen looks like a disaster area now and they only tasted so/so. I will try them one more time just to see if it was me or if maybe there is a better recipe out there for poppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
These were WAY too hot for me. I wasn't even able to finish 3 and I normally love poppers. My guess is that a lot depends on the peppers that you buy and maybe how ripe they are, but I don't know what to look for to determine how hot they'll be. The recipe was also very time consuming. The peeling, deseeding, and filling were all a pain. I didn't have gloves, so I put ziplock bags over my hands which made the job harder. If I were to make these again I might not roast the peppers and I'd probably cut them in half, which would make the seeding and filling easier. It would also cut the heat by increasing the filling to pepper ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States