Jalapeno Poppers I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
These were pretty good. I only had a 6oz package of shredded sharp cheddar, so I subbed mexican cheese blend for the remainder and used homemade mayo. We did have a lot of cheese leftover, like other reviewers mentioned. I had thought about cutting the proportions of the filling in half, but instead I decided to make the full amount and then I just added a little cayenne pepper and garlic powder to the remainder of the filling mix and served it as a cheese spread for crackers, it was so good! I refrigerated the filled jalapeno poppers overnight and they still had the problem with leaking out all over the tray when I cooked them. But the flavor was good and we enjoyed them. I am going to try freezing the leftovers and reheating them another day. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Delicious and a hit at parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I liked this recipe! I breaded only the top and left the bottom so the green would show for color. Some I didn't bread at all but did put them in the oven. Those I thought were a little greasy and was wondering if I left the mayo out of the ones I didn't bread if that would help... or maybe next time I will just put the ones in the oven that are breaded and not heat the others. I would make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Good - tips: After you cut the jalapenos boil for 1 min and then put in cold water for a minute. I used bread crumbs, seasoned them w/ pepper, onion powder and parmesan cheese. I didn't use milk, just egg. Baked for 30 min and broiled for a minute. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Awesome EASY&FAST recipe! THANX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quikfast

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
filling was good, but stuffed it was too much pepper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Panko bread crumbs! Wow, this was great. I followed the directions except that I added some Weber "Kickin' Chicken" seasoning to the cheese. Also, because I have the patience of a lightning bolt, I just couldn't do the rolling around in the eggs and stuff. I used a tablespoon and spooned the egg/milk mixture over the top of the peppers after they were stuffed, one at a time, and then spooned panko bread crumbs over them, nice, quick and easy. Man, they were the bomb! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I followed the advice of others and blanched the jalapenos (salted boiling water for approximately 1 min and ice water approx 2 mins). This definitely helped out a lot. I also dredged them in flour before rolling them in bread crumbs (which I used instead of corn flakes), which also made a huge difference. As far as the taste goes, you really have to kind of play around with the recipe to suit the heat level you want. We love super spicy, so I added cayenne and chili powder to the cream cheese mixture. Also, next time depending on how many I'm making, I may cut the cream cheese ingredients in half. I had a ton left over from just making the 30 poppers. These are a little bit of work but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Easy to put together with a great flavor. Thanks Paula, this was my first time making poppers. I'll definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Made these for Easter & everyone loved them! Even good the next day! Problem was, I didn't make enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States