Jalapeno Popper Wontons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Update: I used only 4 oz of crm cheese with 5 (broiled/deseeded) jalapeno's plus some grated Asiago and provolone cheese. Pressed into 1/2 moon shapes (cut off excess wonton edge). Then I dipped each one in beaten egg w/milk and then coated with Panko b4 freezing. OMG, great! Nice n hot too. I got 20 using only 1/2 the cream cheese. Original Post: The idea of this intrigued me. I don't like the work or mess stuffing/breading traditional poppers so, gave this a try. I LOVE THESE! I did use 5 fresh (seriously large) jalapenos that I broiled, peeled and deseeded. Chopped and mixed w/the 8 oz crm cheese. I did add salt, cayenne pepper & touch of lemon juice. Was freaking HOT when I tasted the mix but once put together, they were awesome. I used a zip bag for filling and cut off a small corner to pipe onto wontons (quicker & less mess). I froze poppers (on a sheet pan lined w/clear wrap) before putting them in a large ziplock bag to have at my convenience. Let the crm cheese mix chill before filling wontons. If you like more heat, add more jalapenos or something else hot. I filled 50 wontons (12 oz pack) & had extra filling for probably another 25. Fairly easy & took me about 30 mins to fill/wrap 50. A side note: This posted recipe does not call for baking, they are meant to be fried in properly pre-heated oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Absolutely delicious! We added crumbled bacon to ours to taste more like the poppers we usually make. Same great flavor but easier to make than traditional poppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Really good. I am a baby with heat so I used green chili's instead of Jalapeno. I really liked them and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Really, really good! I added a little garlic powder to the filling and baked at 475 for 8 minutes (flipping halfway) instead of frying. I just put them on a cookie sheet and sprayed lightly with cooking spray. They crisped up nicely this way. My husband raved about these, so I'll have to make them again soon! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Time consuming, but tasty. I added a little garlic powder and cayenne (which made them very spicy, but yum!), brushed the wontons with olive oil, and baked at 475 for about 6 minutes. Should have gone a minute or two longer, because the crisp bits were the best. Couldn't find sweet chili sauce in time; I'll pick some up when I find it as an excuse to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frugalux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This is the best recipe, I made them the other night, I used fresh jalapenos and they were great!! It is a little tricky working with wontons. Anyway after a couple of trys I got the hang of it and they were totally eaten up! I was able to salvage two for myself! Will make again and again! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rutledge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
my husband loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perham, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hawley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
These things are awesome, I don't think I'll ever make an actual battered jalapeno popper ever again. The most time-consuming part is filling the wontons, but it's totally worth it to take the time to make a ton and freeze some for later. I'd give these a 10 if I could, they're so easy and so delicious... and MUCH better than anything at a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I made these for the game last weekend....HUGE HIT!!!!!!! Everyone loved them, including myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
i made these for my daughter 's family and their dinner guests. they were eaten as fast as i could make them. even my 2 grandkids liked them and that is saying something! i am going to make a batch of these and freeze them for the next party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Jan's Jalapeno Popper Pizza

Learn how to make a unique version of homemade pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States