Jalapeno Popper Wontons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I used 3 fresh peppers and added in... cheddar, bacon bits, green onions. Also baked. 350 worked for the trial ones in the toaster oven but def needs hotter temp for regular oven as recommended by others. I started out using pastry brush to baste but quickly abandoned and just dipped fingers in evoo. MUCH faster. Will make again soon and try them fried. I think adding chicken and using egg roll wrappers are also in my future. I can see having these in the freezer ready to go. The sweet chili sauce was a perfect dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
So gooooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildflower Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I made a half batch since it was just my hubby and I. They were so good we made another half batch a few hour later and made pigs of ourselves...but we couldn't help it. He totally flipped over them. First batch, made with fresh jalapenos from my garden and a few garlic chives added. Second batch added some garlic powder and chopped black olives. Both were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mashpee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Love these! I try to eat as healthy as possible when I can though, which means I generally avoid fried foods because of the extra calorties so I decided to bake these as so many others have... they were good but I didn't think they were quite right. So I tried pan frying them with only about 2 tablespoons of oil. They were fantastic this way. I made 22 wontons & I still had a little bit of oil left in my pan when I was done. They were light, crispy and delicious without being immersed in an oil bath. I used fat free cream cheese and added some parmesan, salt and pepper to the filling. I also like to make my own version of a sweet chili sauce sometimes with some sriracha and mixed berry jam (or whatever flavors I have on hand... black raspberry and strawberry is my favorite combo) & a couple dashes of garlic powder, salt and pepper. If its too thick I thin it out w/ some juice from the jalepenos. Sriracha and honey makes a good sauce to dip these in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This really goes over big whenever I make it. The finest compliment is when my employers guests asked for a copy of the recipe! I add garlic powder or chopped garlic, onion powder, a few shots of chipotle tabasco and a healthy dose of parmesan cheese. For my buddies I kick it up a notch with Franks cyan pepper sauce. I spray and bake them for no hassle, but they are better fried if you can stand the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I used to make them like this, but now mix all ingredient except the Jalapeno, cut them in half and take out seeds and membrane then fill them the cheese mixture to which I add garlic then bake them in the over with bacon wrapped around them. Use a foil lined cookie sheet. To die for. Good even warmed in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Delicious! I followed the recipe for the first batch and fried them, and then I baked the second batch at 350 for 15 minutes. Both methods worked out great, but I do think I'll leave the frying for when I have guests, and bake them when I want to eat them for myself. Thanks Billy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
These were a huge hit! Like others, i did make some small changes. I did half veggie cream cheese/half regular cream cheese. I also made some bacon (to which i always add some brown sugar at the end to sweeten) and i diced this up small and put it in the mixture as well. I also put some fresh shredded parm. cheese as well. I backed at 475 for 10 mins...these were delicious and everyone said they wished i had made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Wow these are good! I accidentally added 4 ounces of chile peppers instead of jalapenos and they were still awesome. I can't wait to make them again using jalapenos. I baked them for 7 minutes at each side at 400 degrees F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
delicious... are a bit time consuming but well worth it... use fresh jalapenos & some bacon bits for the best taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Slow Cooker Jalapeno Popper Taquitos

Check out these creamy and spicy taquitos!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States