Jalapeno Popper Wontons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I just made a few of these to test out before making a big batch. They were awesome. But I didn't fry them b/c I didn't want the added calories. So I basted them with olive oil and baked them for 5 minutes at 475 degrees. They wre crispy and delicious. I made two of them with diced Anaheim chili peppers and those were theeee best ever!!!! The chili pepper has a great flavor and are not hot at all. You could probably get the same crunch from diced celery but the Anaheim chilis are packed with flavor. I'll definitely be making some more of these very soon. Oh, and the sweet chili sauce I used is from Trader Joe's. This sauce is essential for dipping. The sweetness of the dipping sauce mixes beautifully with the cream cheese and jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
418 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanNoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Yummy, very easy to make and totally addicting! I brushed these with olive oil and baked for about 10 minutes in the oven at 475 instead of frying them. I don't know about others, but following the recipe of putting a teaspoon of filing on each wonton yielded me 45 of these things (bought a 60 count package).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
These are awesome! I made a ton of them and froze them on cookie sheets (if you freeze them all in one bag at once, they will stick together), and when they were frozen, I transferred them to a container so they don't break up. These are worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVES_POOKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I started with JanNoel's advice and used one finely chopped Anaheim pepper (they're big!) and baked them at 475 for 5 minutes. To the mix I add 2/3 cup parmesan (the cheap stuff), 3/4 tsp garlic salt, a couple shots of hot sauce, and 2/3 cup mozzarella. After folding them into triangles, I lightly coat them on both sides with cooking spray and bake them on a cookie sheet covered in foil. Easy cleanup! After pulling them out, I flip them and let them cool for 3-4 minutes. I dip them in ranch dressing and they're so good! If you like it spicy and the Anaheim pepper you get is not so spicy, you can add a chopped jalapeno. Without these changes, this recipe is bland, but with them, it's absolutely wonderful! A great base recipe! Foolproof and can be changed to tastes. **Update: When I don't have an anaheim pepper, I use a 1/2 jalapeno, chopped (with seeds to make it hot). If you're spice shy, chop up one jalapeno, without the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katie
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This recipe is amazing! I followed an earlier suggestion and baked the wontons rather than frying them. This really was an easy recipe. I'm not sure why people said it was too time consuming. I got it done very quickly! I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
These were pretty good. They need a little help though. I used 3 fresh jalepenos and added 1/8 cup mozerella, 1/4 teaspoon onion powder, 1 teaspoon fresh minced garlic, and 1/8 teaspoon sugar. I served them with fresh salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I basically just used the idea of this recipe and the out come was delightful. I seeded and chopped a serrano chili with some red onion and cooked over medium heat with a little olive oil until tender. Removed from heat and added 4 oz cream cheese and about 2 teaspoons toasted sesame oil, a little salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Fried in wantons...MMmmmm. My hubby and I ate them all as they came out of the pan. I forgot to dip in the chili sauce. Will use it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
These were really good! I too changed the recipe a little. I used a tub of lowfat cream cheese small can of green chiles, would prefer fresh. But just got off work to tired. Anyway then added some onion powder, some garlic powder, and cayanne. The filling was really good. As someone else said it would make a great dip, I totally agree! I baked them in a small muffin pan just pinched the top. sprayed them with no fat cooking sparay and baked at 450 for 10 min. They came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boingoland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fontana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Wonderful!! SO easy too! I used fresh japs (I only had three, but 4 would've been nice!) and followed the recipe as is. The sweet chili sauce is the greatest topper to them! I think these will be requested A LOT by my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
My husband loved these and so much cheaper than the store bought poppers.He liked them best without the sauce but that;s typical for him. I am making another BIG batch to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Jan's Jalapeno Popper Pizza

Learn how to make a unique version of homemade pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States