Jalapeno Popper Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Absolutely the most addicting dip ever! I was skeptical that the ingredients would taste well together, and nothing more should be added (like bacon). Well, I used fresh parmesan, and it was perfect, better than cheddar. I tried adding bacon and it detracted from the taste. The dip was not mild, but not tearfully spicy either, so if you need it REALLY hot, doubling the jalepenos would suit you. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND using panko (Kikkoman makes a grocery-store version) crumbs on top of the parmesan (10/08 UPDATE TIP!!! MIX the 1/2 cup panko crumbs WITH your FRESH grated parmesan and sprinkle the mixture atop. It comes out SO crispy and golden, and prevents the cheese melting into a hard crust you can't scoop through. Perfect, perfect!); and you'll bake up a beautiful golden, crunchy coating -- that "deep-fried" taste! Do bake in the oven. Last but not least, the large crowds that have devoured this agree that the best DIPPER is TOASTED FRENCH BREAD slices (place on pan under the broiler for a couple *careful* minutes per side), distantly followed by butter crackers. Tortilla chips are the least favorite, and sourdough bread (my usual favorite) seemed too sharp to accentuate the dip. Hope that helps any questions YOU might have! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2578 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Thank you for all of the wonderful comments! I also use a whole 4 oz can of jalapenos, because I like it spicy. I use REAL shredded parmesan on the top. It does make the best "popper" flavor. You just have to trust me. In order to get the correct consistency, you have to stick to the recipe. Do not substitute with sour cream and you must use the mayo. The best presentation you can do is REAL shredded parmesan cheese on top, and bake it in the oven in a glass pie dish. It comes out golden brown and gorgeous! Mmmm... Also, you'd think bacon would be great in this. It's not. Again, you just have to trust me. People rate this recipe less than 5 stars when they add to it and that's not the recipe that I've shared. Please stick to the recipe for the best results, and use the baked variation with real shredded parmesan cheese (not the green can stuff). Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1388 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenn, California, USA
Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I took this to a football party & it was DEVOURED! i did what others suggested: used 6 fresh jalapenos, used 1/2 C mayo & 1/2 C sour cream, omitted the chiles, added 1/2 C shredded cheddar, & finished it off with italian bread crumbs & a sprinkle of cheddar. I served it with sliced baguette. next time I make it, I'm going to try adding some pepperjack cheese. It could have been a bit spicier for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
851 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
W-O-W! This is SO yummy. I took the advice of others and used more diced jalapenos - - I drained a 7.75 oz. can and used that. The dip had heat, but no one said it was too hot for their taste buds. I also used shredded Cheddar cheese (1/2 in the cream cheese mixture and 1/2 sprinkled on top.) because that is more an ingredient in poppers than Parmesan. And because others suggested it, I also sprinkled lightly with bread crumbs for that "fried" popper taste. Baked at 400 degrees for 20 minutes and served it with Tostito Scoops. This "dip" tasted exactly like jalapeno poppers. Try this, you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
412 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Just Awesome! Would give it 10 stars if I could. Used a fresh parmesan/reggiano mix and I would DEFINITELY recommend topping with bread crumbs, because even though this is the tastiest dip around, it does not look very appealing. I would also bake it in the oven (350 for 20-30 minutes). Served with toasted baguette slices...perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I used the baked variation. I used fresh parmesan and accidentally used the whole can of jalapenos, but it was really good. I served it as an appetizer. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe! I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This does taste like poppers. I used about 6 fresh chopped jalapeno's and baked it for about 20 min @ 300.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
WOW! This was fantastic. I halved the recipe and used equal parts green chilis and jalaps. I did not use parm, because that didn't seem very "poppery" to me. Instead, I mixed in some odds and ends of 2% shredded cheeses I had: sharp cheddar, co-jack, and a mexican mix. I also used 1/2 C light mayo and 1/2 C sour cream because I prefer sour cream to mayo (and per earlier suggestions). I baked in the oven and served w/fresh french bread. I covered the top w/bread crumbs (and sprayed w/PAM to "crisp") prior to baking. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
WoW, I read all the reviews and thought it can't be that good. It is!! Thanks, it was a major hit at our 4th of July celebration. I took the hints and doubled the jalapenos and added the bread crumbs. While it was in the microwave I turned on the broiler and popped it in for just a minute to crisp up the top. I was asked for the recipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Mott, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is absolutely delicious! It was a huge hit at the 4th of July BBQ party at our neighbors. It went pretty fast with everyone going back for 2nds. I did use a full 4 oz. can of diced Jalapeño peppers and a mix of Parmesan & Romano Cheeses, baked in 325 degree oven for about 25 minutes and topped with freshly grated Parmesan cheese for better presentation. A keeper for sure! Thank you Denise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,649) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States