Jalapeno Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I followed this recipe to the "T" and it did not set up. Sadly I had to cook it again following the " if your jelly did not set" instructions as provided in the pectin box. It did set, but now I am afraid to taste it as I had to add lemon juice and more sugar to get it to set...hhhmmm. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This is soooo good! I just made it tonight and literally licked the pot! It made seven jars complete which was a nice surprise (or maybe not since I didn't have any that I had to put in the fridge right away!). I preserve my jalapeno peppers by roasting them in the oven, mincing them, and then freezing them. I break of chunks as I need so I just used some of these. Also, I didn't have any green food coloring so I used about seven drops of red. It looks gorgeous in the jars! I can't wait to serve this with cream cheese! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This is the first time I have made jelly and I am so glad I chose this recipe! It's in my favorite's box for sure! My boyfriend went through all 6 jars in less than two weeks because he just couldn't stay out of it!!! I think I am going to make these for gifts for Christmas. I don't like hot stuff at all. If it makes my mouth warm, that's hot enough, this jelly was wonderful not hot but just enough kick to make it special, Thank you for sharing this. Angela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I made this recipe and by mistake only used 1/2 the amount of pectin called for, it still turned out very nice. I have given out for gifts and gotten nothing but rave reviews...and requests for me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
The best pepper jelly I've had. Boiled for 10 min, then 5 min w pectin. Used 2 jumbo & 3 medium red peppers & 7oz jalapeno's so increased sugar to 7 cups. This made 5 small canning jars & 1 lg 645 ml jar of jelly, about 1/3 of store cost. Check reduced produce section of your store too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Keswick, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Don't panic if your hard work doesn't set up. If you are in Canada, use certo brand liquid pectin. It works best for this recipe. And don't forget to process jars in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes after filling. I used 4 large red bell peppers and 7 green jalapeno peppers. The red pepper flavor is what I set out to accomplish along with the sweet and wonderful taste of the jalapeno peppers. I left in some jalapeno seeds and added the cayenne. Very Nice....and Loved by everyone. Hope this helps.............cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhythm&Cruise
Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
easy and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kala

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coon Valley, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was my first time making jelly, and I couldn't be happier. WOW! This stuff is delicious. I appreciate all the comments, even the negative ones, because I feel like I've benefited from others. Thanks especially to the ones who mentioned how they substituted fresh peppers ... because that's where I got the idea to make pepper jelly! Someone gave us about 10 lbs of jalapenos ... and I know EXACTLY where they're all going to end up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Very pretty and excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynCocks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
7 times I have used this recipe and it has never failed. Use the right amounts of sugar and make sure you boil the pectin for the right time, 5 min, it will set. I used 4-6 fresh jalapenos with half the seeds removed to replace the cans. I placed all the peppers in the food processor but didnt quite puree it and left some of the peppers chunky. I got great compliments and everyone thought it looked better than just clear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Smiths Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States