Jalapeno Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
The consistency of this jam was nice, but canned jalepenos??? NEVER - not to mention the food coloring? Why would I want to add these to my fresh food?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by v

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This is delicious. I can't wait to share it with friends. After reading the reviews I was worried about it setting up so I did follow the instuctions to cook 10 min, add the pectin and cook another 5 min. Mine is almost too set up. Next time I will try pre-cooking 5 min instead of 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grant City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Couldn't get it to form but tastes great as a salsa! I left the seeds in and it is so spicy! Tastes great on chips, crackers, cheese...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I followed this recipe very carefully, but mine did not set up in the end. It was like a sauce. Wish I knew why because I would like to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
to those who have had trouble with the jelly setting, use 7 whole jalapeno peppers that are raw and puree them with the other peppers in the vinegar,not canned.Too much liquid. To those south of the Mason Dixon line, it is standard procedure to have it at any get together. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I have doubled, tripled and quadrupled a similar recipe with Great results. If it does not set, the jelly was cooked longer than necessary after the pectin was added. You can boil it again and add the pectin again, and only boil for 1 minute after it reaches the boiling point. I learned the hard way and called the pectin help line for the asnwer. Good Luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I love the taste but however mine did not set either .. I am not sure what I did wrong, I have never not had jelly set so not sure what I did or in this case did not do. ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Delicious! I used 3 red bell peppers, about 1 cup minced fresh jalapenos w/ seeds and 1 tsp cayenne. I bought a box of Certo liquid pectin (2 pouches - net wt 6 oz. That means 3 oz each. I used only one pouch. Set up once cooled (2 hours,)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I have made this jelly a couple of times and absolutely love it! Instead of 3 green bell pepper I added a red one, a green one and a pablano chili pepper. I put the bell peppers in my food processor then put it in a bowl with paper towls to pull out some of the moisture. This seemed to help with it setting. I also did not add the food coloring. With the different colored peppers it looks beautiful in the jars. I found that boiling it longer then 5 minutes helped it set alot better also. Overall a great jelly! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Love it!!! Used cider vinegar as suggested. Also used fresh jalapenos. It is mild so next time I'm gonna try adding more heat because I like it hot but I still enoy it very much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Bacon Jalapeno Pepper Chicken Bites

A deliciously spicy, filling appetizer or dinner!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States