Jalapeno Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This is such a good recipe! I used fresh jalapeno's instead of cans, I added about 9 of them, seeds in, and skipped the cayenne. My jelly didn't set, but I figured out what happened. I used too small a pot (allow the jelly to really expand- more than double), so I couldn't keep it at a full rolling boil for the 5 minutes. When my jelly didn't set, I poured it all back into a really gigantic soup pot, re-boiled it and added an extra package of pectin crystals. After that, no problem. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Excellent results, thank you for sharing. Itook all the seeds and membrane out, so I was lacking the heat I desired. This years batch I will leave some seeds in. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Great stuff - easy - let the peppers drain thru a screen to get the water out - I used a blender and it did a good job mincing the peppers - gonna make another batch ASAP and kick up the heat a little - ROCKIN Y
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This recipe is better with fresh Jalapeno's cut up and this is why Katieklg your jelly didn't set. Too much juice from the canned Jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ccatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This is a great recipe. Everything worked out fine with the pectin. Set really nice. The only thing that I will do differently next time is add more fresh Jalapeno's. My family and I like a little more heat, but it was still very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I make this all the time, however, instead of cayenne pepper I use red pepper flakes, FRESH JALAPENOS is a must, and I also add about a good tbls. of seeds from my peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This jelly is AMAZING!!! will be adding as a keeper. THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgarner4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I don't have any trouble with this recipe setting into jelly consistency. If you are using Certo brand liquid fruit pectin in a box, you need to use the entire box (2 pouches) of pectin which equals 6 fl oz. I also customize this recipe and use about 12 or more fresh jalapenos chopped in a food processor in lieu of bell peppers and canned jalapenos. Adding green food coloring makes it a pretty gem color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Prepared exactly as directed. I did make sure that all liquid was drained and dry out of both peppers. I used my vita mix to chop green peppers. They need to be really small pieces. After canning and while cooling I lightly turned jars upside down and back once in a while to keep peppers from floating to top. I like this jelly because it's not to hot. Just hot enough for me. If you like it hotter Read other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Oh darn, mine did not set, and I had to open all the jars and add pectin and cook longer. I'm sorry to say, that I won't be making this one again, it's just too much sugar, too sweet ! I've had better. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuliaB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States