Jalapeno Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
DO NOT double this recipe!! I was making it for gifts for about twelve people and so I doubled the ingredients. Big mistake, I found out after my jelly did not set that you are never supposed to double a jelly or jam recipe. I hope this will save another first time jelly maker from making this mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
626 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I went the no sugar route on this one..used Splenda and no- sugar pectin. It tasted wonderful, great for lo carbing! I use it for everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
345 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
HOT...SWEET...my jelly set up nice and quick. Try boiling ingredients on medium heat for 10 minutes, add pectin and boil for 5 minutes. Also, I used fresh jalapenos. 1 1/2 pounds. Don't forget the gloves and glasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Great recipe. I substituted apple cider vinegar for white, which gave it a nice flavor. I also used one green, one yellow, and one orange pepper to vary up the colors a bit and left out the green food coloring (turned out a clear-yellowish color). I think the key to getting the jelly to set, is to load your diced peppers into a towel and squeeze out all the excess liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
The orginal recipe is very tasty and is a good base to experiment. Any true "pepper-head" will want to upgrade to serrano peppers (or hotter) and increase the cayenne (I went to 1.5 tbs). For a sweeter Jelly stir in an additional cup of sugar before the pectin. One additional tip, don't use cheap vinegar, final taste is compromised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Excellent!!I processed the green peppers, jalapenos and vinegar in my food processor and made short work of this recipe. Not to hot, not too mild; perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATURTLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holliston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Union, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
Very good taste! It was enough for eight 250ml jars. For all you cooks north of the border: 6 fluid ounces liquid pectin translates to 170 ml (two packages at 85 ml).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
Wonderful Recipe! This is sooo easy to make and the flavor is WONDERFUL!! I am asked repeatedly for this recipe. My entire family enjoys it and I have to make it year round. Delicious with cream cheese and tortilla chips or crackers. I use my Quisinart to mince/mix the peppers before adding them to the saucepan.Both green & red bell peppers make an attractive jelly. I can make this in 30 minutes or less.Thank you Brenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I love the flavor of this jelly. Although, I have tried four different times to make it and it will not set up. I have followed the directions to the "T" and nothing. It makes a good sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Not sure why but my jelly didn't set well. Stayed pretty runny. not sure what I did wrong, I followed the recipe exactly. Still tasted good though. Just wasn't something I wanted to give away as gifts -- who wants runny jelly?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States