Jalapeno Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I don't have any trouble with this recipe setting into jelly consistency. If you are using Certo brand liquid fruit pectin in a box, you need to use the entire box (2 pouches) of pectin which equals 6 fl oz. I also customize this recipe and use about 12 or more fresh jalapenos chopped in a food processor in lieu of bell peppers and canned jalapenos. Adding green food coloring makes it a pretty gem color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Prepared exactly as directed. I did make sure that all liquid was drained and dry out of both peppers. I used my vita mix to chop green peppers. They need to be really small pieces. After canning and while cooling I lightly turned jars upside down and back once in a while to keep peppers from floating to top. I like this jelly because it's not to hot. Just hot enough for me. If you like it hotter Read other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Oh darn, mine did not set, and I had to open all the jars and add pectin and cook longer. I'm sorry to say, that I won't be making this one again, it's just too much sugar, too sweet ! I've had better. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Borisenko

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I had fresh jalapenos to use--so, I used about 8 oz of fresh. Way too hot!! I'm hoping it will mellow. It took forever to set. I thought I was going to have to redo it. But, overnight they set up. I also chopped everything in the food processor-makes the job go much faster! I also used cider vinegar and didn't add the cayenne, thankfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I used 2 red peppers and 1 green with only 1 drop of red food coloring. The reason I decided to write a review is to say that the jelly does set if you follow the directions HOWEVER, you have to use fresh jalapeno's AND pat dry when done dicing the peppers. I set mine right out on Bounty paper towels to absorb all the liquid. I have made the recipe 2 times now with no issues. The second time I did use less sugar. It is very good. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
As other reviewers have said this recipe needs double the amount of pectin to solidify. The flavor is awesome as written, but you won't have a jelly consistency unless you double the pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tate, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
mine didn't get solid like it should of...I used powderd Pectin,cant find liquid here.. I wish I could fix it.If anyone knows how..please let me know..I followed the recipe to the T,except for the pectin. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Scherer Smith
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Great jelly.... only thing needs to cook longer then 5 min's in step 2 about 10 to 15 min's and I used 3 drops of red thats my pic of the cream cheese/jelly ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Scherer Smith
Home Town: Westminster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Nice recipe. I used I of each Yellow, Red, and green pepper (approx cup and a half each) I cooked mine 5 min after boiling and actually got 7 small jars of jelly. I just cracked one open after 3 hours and consistency is nice. Has a great bite ( I left the seeds in) I may try it with minus a cup of sugar next time. It tastes good on a Ritz cracker with Beer. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
The consistency of this jam was nice, but canned jalepenos??? NEVER - not to mention the food coloring? Why would I want to add these to my fresh food?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by v

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States