Jalapeno Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
DO NOT double this recipe!! I was making it for gifts for about twelve people and so I doubled the ingredients. Big mistake, I found out after my jelly did not set that you are never supposed to double a jelly or jam recipe. I hope this will save another first time jelly maker from making this mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
630 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I went the no sugar route on this one..used Splenda and no- sugar pectin. It tasted wonderful, great for lo carbing! I use it for everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
HOT...SWEET...my jelly set up nice and quick. Try boiling ingredients on medium heat for 10 minutes, add pectin and boil for 5 minutes. Also, I used fresh jalapenos. 1 1/2 pounds. Don't forget the gloves and glasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Great recipe. I substituted apple cider vinegar for white, which gave it a nice flavor. I also used one green, one yellow, and one orange pepper to vary up the colors a bit and left out the green food coloring (turned out a clear-yellowish color). I think the key to getting the jelly to set, is to load your diced peppers into a towel and squeeze out all the excess liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
The orginal recipe is very tasty and is a good base to experiment. Any true "pepper-head" will want to upgrade to serrano peppers (or hotter) and increase the cayenne (I went to 1.5 tbs). For a sweeter Jelly stir in an additional cup of sugar before the pectin. One additional tip, don't use cheap vinegar, final taste is compromised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Excellent!!I processed the green peppers, jalapenos and vinegar in my food processor and made short work of this recipe. Not to hot, not too mild; perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATURTLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holliston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Union, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
Very good taste! It was enough for eight 250ml jars. For all you cooks north of the border: 6 fluid ounces liquid pectin translates to 170 ml (two packages at 85 ml).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
Wonderful Recipe! This is sooo easy to make and the flavor is WONDERFUL!! I am asked repeatedly for this recipe. My entire family enjoys it and I have to make it year round. Delicious with cream cheese and tortilla chips or crackers. I use my Quisinart to mince/mix the peppers before adding them to the saucepan.Both green & red bell peppers make an attractive jelly. I can make this in 30 minutes or less.Thank you Brenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I love the flavor of this jelly. Although, I have tried four different times to make it and it will not set up. I have followed the directions to the "T" and nothing. It makes a good sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Not sure why but my jelly didn't set well. Stayed pretty runny. not sure what I did wrong, I followed the recipe exactly. Still tasted good though. Just wasn't something I wanted to give away as gifts -- who wants runny jelly?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States