Jalapeno Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Prepared exactly as directed. I did make sure that all liquid was drained and dry out of both peppers. I used my vita mix to chop green peppers. They need to be really small pieces. After canning and while cooling I lightly turned jars upside down and back once in a while to keep peppers from floating to top. I like this jelly because it's not to hot. Just hot enough for me. If you like it hotter Read other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Oh darn, mine did not set, and I had to open all the jars and add pectin and cook longer. I'm sorry to say, that I won't be making this one again, it's just too much sugar, too sweet ! I've had better. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuliaB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I had fresh jalapenos to use--so, I used about 8 oz of fresh. Way too hot!! I'm hoping it will mellow. It took forever to set. I thought I was going to have to redo it. But, overnight they set up. I also chopped everything in the food processor-makes the job go much faster! I also used cider vinegar and didn't add the cayenne, thankfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I used 2 red peppers and 1 green with only 1 drop of red food coloring. The reason I decided to write a review is to say that the jelly does set if you follow the directions HOWEVER, you have to use fresh jalapeno's AND pat dry when done dicing the peppers. I set mine right out on Bounty paper towels to absorb all the liquid. I have made the recipe 2 times now with no issues. The second time I did use less sugar. It is very good. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
As other reviewers have said this recipe needs double the amount of pectin to solidify. The flavor is awesome as written, but you won't have a jelly consistency unless you double the pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tate, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
mine didn't get solid like it should of...I used powderd Pectin,cant find liquid here.. I wish I could fix it.If anyone knows how..please let me know..I followed the recipe to the T,except for the pectin. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melizz65
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Great jelly.... only thing needs to cook longer then 5 min's in step 2 about 10 to 15 min's and I used 3 drops of red thats my pic of the cream cheese/jelly ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melizz65
Home Town: Westminster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Nice recipe. I used I of each Yellow, Red, and green pepper (approx cup and a half each) I cooked mine 5 min after boiling and actually got 7 small jars of jelly. I just cracked one open after 3 hours and consistency is nice. Has a great bite ( I left the seeds in) I may try it with minus a cup of sugar next time. It tastes good on a Ritz cracker with Beer. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
The consistency of this jam was nice, but canned jalepenos??? NEVER - not to mention the food coloring? Why would I want to add these to my fresh food?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by v

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This is delicious. I can't wait to share it with friends. After reading the reviews I was worried about it setting up so I did follow the instuctions to cook 10 min, add the pectin and cook another 5 min. Mine is almost too set up. Next time I will try pre-cooking 5 min instead of 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grant City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States