Jalapeno Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
First, I live in Texas so our scale of what's hot is different from others. Hummus is my Spring 2007 perfection recipe (I keep making it until I get the perfect one- and then take it to all the parties and and bask in the compliments). I was thrilled to find a hummus recipe that added jalapenos (texas, in search of the perfect hummus....). I love this recipe. I did add more jalapenos and more lemon juice, double what the recipe called for, but that was due to our regional preferences. Big Tip: Make it ahead of time and let it sit in the refrigerator overnight. That's the secret that makes this recipe go from good to great. Thank you Andrew for posting this recipe. You just proved that any recipe can be made even better by "spicing it up" with the right ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bertram, Texas, USA
Living In: Spicewood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Best hummus ever. You can make it with or without the curry - I like it without, my husband likes it with. Totally outshines all my friends hummus that they have been making for years. We will never buy hummus again. UPDATE: We've beek making this for a while now. First, you have to add tahini, it's not really hummus without it. Second, if its too thick, add some of the bean water from the garbanzos. Third, I still like it better without the curry and don't be stingy with the cumin! Fourth, I usually make this in batches of 6. You should too. It keeps for a while and it's just to die for. Make it for a party, put out half of it, if that goes put out more, and if you have some left at the end, use it for sandwiches or eat it as a snack with carrot sticks. Fifth, fresh jalapenos are awesome in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
SOOOOOOOOO good! I got so many compliments and everyone wanted the recipe! I didn't use the curry powder since I didn't have any but it was still amazing! I also added 2 tablespoons of chopped fresh parsley - it looks pretty this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
WOW! I have been making my own hummus for 3 years, ever since I first tried it at a traditional Greek restraunt. This is my first time trying to make a flavoured kind of hummus and it is amazing! I doubled the recipe to make for a party and I can't wait to take it there. I had a hard time not eating all myself just now. I decorated it with crushed pepper flakes and sliced jalapenos on top! Looks great, wonderful creamy consistency and amazing taste! Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is an awesome recipe. Since I didn't have tahini, I used toasted sesame seeds..(which is what tahini is made from) and it worked fine..I have a VitaMix, so the sesame seeds were completely ground up. Also adding a few slices of Red Bell Pepper gives it a nice color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Wonderful and so tasty hummus! Only addition I made was throwing a handful of chopped cilantro in the food processor. I absolutely love this! Glad I doubled the batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
The base recipe is a little bland to our taste, but is a good start. We did the following to spice it up a bit and feel it could use even more: 1 tsp curry 1 tsp cumin 1/4 tsp cayenne 1/2 tsp salt 4 cloves garlic 4 tbsp lemon juice 1/4 cup fresh cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Super easy to make. Follow the recipe and use canned jalapenos. We used fresh and the hummus was dry. About 1 tbs. of olive oil fixed the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Really good. I used 1 fresh, seeded jalapeno, which worked out fine. I omitted the curry powder since I didn't have any. The crushed red pepper and cumin are a great finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This was very good! I did not have the tahini, but it tasted great without it. I will definitely be making this again, but I may add a few less peppers next time, as it was a bit too hot for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States